Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Treeeman
Enthusiast
Posts: 70
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 18, 2014 11:30 am
Contact:

Coexistence Veeam and HP Data Protector

Post by Treeeman » Mar 24, 2015 6:10 pm

Hello,

my plan is to use a single Hardware for both Backup Programs. Data Protector and Veeam Backups are saved to a local attached Storage. After that i use Data Protector to copy the Data Protector Backups and the *.vbr and *.vbk Files to Tape.

Questions:
- Is there any known issue running Veeam B&R 8 and HP Data Protector on the same Windows Server?
- Any other issues i should consider?

Thanks!
Kind Regards
Marco

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Coexistence Veeam and HP Data Protector

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 24, 2015 7:39 pm

Hello Marco,

I believe the only issue you should keep in mind is a possible job overlap, other than that it should be fine. Out of curiosity, why don't you want to use Veeam to offload everything to tape?

Thank you!

Treeeman
Enthusiast
Posts: 70
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 18, 2014 11:30 am
Contact:

Re: Coexistence Veeam and HP Data Protector

Post by Treeeman » Mar 24, 2015 8:55 pm

Hi Vitaly,

ok, i will try to prevent a job overlap.

Tape Offloading (correct me if i am wrong):
I prevere Data Protector for Tape Offloading because there are some Data Protector Backup Jobs which save Files directly to Tape. Additionally it seems for me easier to restore a *.vbr-File from Tape (with Data Protector) and import this File in Veeam Backup.
If i whould use Veeam for Tape Offloading everthing i have to change the existing Data Protector Tape Jobs to get stored on my local disks. Because i am not a Data Protector Specialist its much more difficulty (for me) to restore Data Protector Backup Files from Tape to my disks and import this Backups again in Data Protector.

So this is why i prevere DP for Tape Offloading.

Thanks!
Kind Regards
Marco

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Coexistence Veeam and HP Data Protector

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 25, 2015 9:57 am

Treeeman wrote:I prevere Data Protector for Tape Offloading because there are some Data Protector Backup Jobs which save Files directly to Tape
You can use Veeam B&R to offload files to tapes as well.
Treeeman wrote:If i whould use Veeam for Tape Offloading everthing i have to change the existing Data Protector Tape Jobs to get stored on my local disks.
Not sure I fully understand this. You can install Veeam tape server on the Data Protector server and run your jobs from that server.

In this case overall management will be much easier and the will be no job overlap.

Treeeman
Enthusiast
Posts: 70
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 18, 2014 11:30 am
Contact:

Re: Coexistence Veeam and HP Data Protector

Post by Treeeman » Mar 25, 2015 10:57 am

Do you mean i should use Veeam to offload my Veeam Backups and my Data Protector Files to Tape?

My Situation:
I backup daily my Servers to disk and after that to tape with DP. I am able to store about 2 days on disk. Actually if i want to restore files older than 2 days i have to do this from tape. This works fine.
How will it work if i install Veeam B&R or Veeam Tape Server on my (Data Protector) Backup Server to offload files to tape? Data Protector creates virtual Tapes on my local disk. This are files like "0c64320a554ff50c15073451c1a.fd".
Because Veeam is doing dedupliacation i am sure i will be able to store more than 2 days ony my local disks for my Veeam VM Backups. So if i want to restore Files from a VM i will use the backup from disk.

Let assume i use Veeam to offload my Data Protector virtual tape files (*.fd) to tape. If i want to restore a file from a DP Backu older than 2 days i have to search/find and restore the correct FD-File, import his file within my Data Protector and do a Restore Job after that. Because i am not really know much about DP this is a little bit complex for me.
Let assume i am using Data Protector like i do right now. Restores from DP works like i used to. DP knows where my DP Backups are on tape. Additionally i copy my Veeam *.vbk Files to tape with DP. To restore files from a Veeam Backup i will use my files on my local disk in most cases. If i need to restore files from a Veeam Backup which is not on disk any more i have to look for the right tape. I restore the .vbk File. Import within my Veeam GUI and run a restore job. This way is much easier for me.

I hope you can understand me correclty (sorry for my englisch... :wink: )
Thanks.

PariPari
Service Provider
Posts: 96
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Nov 26, 2014 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Coexistence Veeam and HP Data Protector

Post by PariPari » Mar 25, 2015 11:17 am

Restoring in Veeam works as easy as in DP.

Assuming you backup a VM with Veeam to disk and configure a secondary destination to tape.
The .vbk will be first created on disk and later on copied to tape. You take out the tape to a safe location.
In 2 weeks, you need to restore said VM, but the restore point on disk is gone. In Veeam, you can click on "tape backups" and select the desired restore point. Veeam will tell you which tape(s) you need for the restore. The whole .vbk will be imported to a specified repository and you can restore stuff like you are used to be from there (instant recovery, file level restore, application restore).

I would not recommend offloading .fd Data Protector files with Veeam. Importing them correctly into DP will be a Pain.

Which server still needs backup with DP?
Can the library be partitioned?

Customers that switched from DP to Veeam usually bought a second backup server and a new library dedicated to Veeam.
DP backups the stuff that DP is good at (Oracle i.E. or plain physical servers) and Veeam does the rest. Both using a dedicated library for their stuff.

Treeeman
Enthusiast
Posts: 70
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 18, 2014 11:30 am
Contact:

Re: Coexistence Veeam and HP Data Protector

Post by Treeeman » Mar 25, 2015 11:37 am

PariPari wrote:Restoring in Veeam works as easy as in DP.
Yes, thats right. But think i am not able to write Veeam Backup AND DP Backups to the same tape. Each one should have his own library or tape. I have just one library.
PariPari wrote:I would not recommend offloading .fd Data Protector files with Veeam. Importing them correctly into DP will be a Pain.
Yes. Because i want to prevent this pain i still want to use DP for tape offloading.
PariPari wrote:Which server still needs backup with DP?
Some physical Server (some with SQL DB) and some SAP Server. 20% Physical and 80% Virtual.
PariPari wrote:Can the library be partitioned?
I have a HP 1/8 Autoloader. Tapes are changed every week and are stored in a safe at another building.
I think the library is not partitioned right now.
PariPari wrote:Customers that switched from DP to Veeam usually bought a second backup server and a new library dedicated to Veeam.
DP backups the stuff that DP is good at (Oracle i.E. or plain physical servers) and Veeam does the rest. Both using a dedicated library for their stuff.
Of course i whould prevere to buy a second Backup Server. But the IT Manager won't buy a second server or library... :cry:
So i have to deal with this situation...

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Coexistence Veeam and HP Data Protector

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 25, 2015 2:09 pm

Treeeman wrote:Do you mean i should use Veeam to offload my Veeam Backups and my Data Protector Files to Tape?
Yes.
Treeeman wrote:Because Veeam is doing dedupliacation i am sure i will be able to store more than 2 days ony my local disks for my Veeam VM Backups. So if i want to restore Files from a VM i will use the backup from disk.
You don't need to change your existing Veeam repository to offload backups to tape.
Treeeman wrote:Yes, thats right. But think i am not able to write Veeam Backup AND DP Backups to the same tape. Each one should have his own library or tape. I have just one library.
Yes, that's correct, so I was suggesting to use file to tape jobs to offload data protectors backups of your physical machines and leverage backup to tape jobs for Veeam backups.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: asalgado and 12 guests