"Correct" way of changing service accounts?

VMware specific discussions

"Correct" way of changing service accounts?

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Fri Jan 06, 2017 9:23 am

I'm prepping the final stages of a Domain Migration & the Backup server is the last element to move (all proxies etc. have already been migrated).

The main Veeam services run under a domain account in the current domain, is there any specific way I should (or shouldn't) modify these (to the replacement account in the new domain) or can I simply edit the services themselves & just switch them manually?
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 511
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: "Correct" way of changing service accounts?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jan 06, 2017 1:12 pm

Hi Paul,

Yes, you can edit service accounts manually, but make sure that new accounts are local admins and have sufficient permissions to connect to the SQL Server that hosts Veeam backup server database. Here is a required permissions document for your convenience > Veeam Backup & Replication permissions

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19942
Liked: 1144 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: "Correct" way of changing service accounts?

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:18 pm

Ah yes, good call on SQL permissions, thanks, I'll go through the doc...
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 511
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests