Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
RubinCompServ
Service Provider
Posts: 67
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Mar 16, 2015 4:00 pm
Full Name: David Rubin
Contact:

Customizing Enterprise Manager

Post by RubinCompServ » Dec 20, 2016 5:58 pm

Is there any way to customize the roles available in the Enterprise Manager? I want some users to be able to run backups and see backup jobs, but only for the servers that they have access to. If I make a user a Restore Operator, they only see "their" VMs, but can only perform restores and have no visibility into the status of the backup job. However, if I make the user a Portal User, they can see the all of the backup jobs, even though I've limited their scope to a specific subset of servers. Is there any way to create a middle ground?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22300
Liked: 1414 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Customizing Enterprise Manager

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 23, 2016 11:08 am

Hi David,

Currently, this is not possible, but can you please tell us if you're providing these backup servers to your external clients or all this is done within your own company?

Thanks!

RubinCompServ
Service Provider
Posts: 67
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Mar 16, 2015 4:00 pm
Full Name: David Rubin
Contact:

Re: Customizing Enterprise Manager

Post by RubinCompServ » Dec 23, 2016 2:43 pm

We would like to allow some of our vCloud customers access to manage their own backups. Installing a Veeam server for each customer is not feasible as multiple customers share a single vCenter. We were hoping that we could use the Enterprise Plus version of Enterprise Manager to provide them access, but "Restore Operator" doesn't give them access to see their own job or run an ad-hoc backup, and "Portal User" gives them access to see ALL of the backups jobs.

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5628
Liked: 1575 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Customizing Enterprise Manager

Post by dellock6 » Dec 24, 2016 3:48 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi David,
if you want to offer backup self-service capabilities to your vcloud director users, Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 has the new vCloud Director self-service portal, I blogged about it a few months ago:
https://www.veeam.com/blog/enhanced-vmw ... pport.html
This is designed exactly for what you are looking for, as access to resources is automatically managed using vcloud native multi-tenancy.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22300
Liked: 1414 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Customizing Enterprise Manager

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 25, 2016 8:18 pm 1 person likes this post

Yes, in this case take a look at Luca's blog and this UG > Working with VMware vCloud Director

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Customizing Enterprise Manager

Post by btmaus » Jan 16, 2017 1:57 am

I don't have or make use of vCloud Director, and I have the Enterprise Edition of VBR 9.5. I want to create a group for my DBA team, so they can only restore SQL Databases for their servers, and not see other servers or have permissions to restore anthing other than SQL databases, but it seems like this is not possible? Is there a way to achieve this?

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5457
Liked: 574 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Customizing Enterprise Manager

Post by Mike Resseler » Jan 16, 2017 6:19 am

Glenn,

Can you have a look at this? It explains how to create a user or group and then select the correct permissions. I believe this should be doing what you want

Mike

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Customizing Enterprise Manager

Post by btmaus » Jan 17, 2017 2:32 am

Thanks Mike, I did find that article shortly after posting my question. So it looks like with the "Enterprise" license I have, I cannot limit the virtual machines that the DBA's will see. Disappointing that I need to pay for a "Plus" license to do this, doesn't seem very "Enterprise" to me ...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 20 guests