Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
kayvonp@re-wa.org
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 13, 2018 1:52 pm
Full Name: KTHP
Contact:

'Datastore usage on disk' Alarm in VMware for Veeam Proxy

Post by kayvonp@re-wa.org » Nov 16, 2018 4:31 pm

I am getting a strange error for one of my Veeam proxies. I don't completely understand it.

In VMware, I have two datastores that were created by Veeam -- one for my Veeam server and one for a backup proxy. I have a second backup proxy that does not have a datastore, though to my knowledge the two proxies are identical. I don't understand what these datastores do -- can anyone explain?

The error I get is for used space on the datastore for the proxy. It has reached >75% used. The one for my Veeam server, however, is only using about .5% of its space.

I tried searching online for the error, but all I found was errors about space filling up on the actual backup drives. These datastores aren't where backups are stored, but rather datastores created by Veeam in VMware.

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5264
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: 'Datastore usage on disk' Alarm in VMware for Veeam Proxy

Post by P.Tide » Nov 16, 2018 5:03 pm

Hi,

I can't see it very clear from my side of the screen, but I think that those must be NFS datastores that are in fact vPower NFS shares. Does it look any similar to this picture? If yes, then I would check if there are any rouge Instant Restore or SureBackup VMs running in your environment.

Thanks!

kayvonp@re-wa.org
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 13, 2018 1:52 pm
Full Name: KTHP
Contact:

Re: 'Datastore usage on disk' Alarm in VMware for Veeam Proxy

Post by kayvonp@re-wa.org » Nov 16, 2018 5:46 pm

It does look like that but I have no jobs running.

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5264
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: 'Datastore usage on disk' Alarm in VMware for Veeam Proxy

Post by P.Tide » Nov 16, 2018 6:01 pm

Have you checked what occupies the space on the datastores? If there is nothing on the actual datastore, then I would suggest to check it from the NFS server side, maybe something is taking up storage space on the disk where your NFS folder resides.

Thanks!

kayvonp@re-wa.org
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 13, 2018 1:52 pm
Full Name: KTHP
Contact:

Re: 'Datastore usage on disk' Alarm in VMware for Veeam Proxy

Post by kayvonp@re-wa.org » Nov 16, 2018 6:04 pm

I browsed it in VSphere and it appears empty.

"I would suggest to check it from the NFS server side, maybe something is taking up storage space on the disk where your NFS folder resides."

How do I go about this? I scanned the disk on the proxy server itself and didn't find anything. Is it located elsewhere?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5264
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: 'Datastore usage on disk' Alarm in VMware for Veeam Proxy

Post by P.Tide » Nov 16, 2018 6:09 pm

You should check disks on the servers that have been assigned "Mount server" roles. When you setup a repository you are offered to choose where your mount server should reside, and where write cache location should be (default value is C:\ProgramData\Veeam\Backup\NfsDatastore). You need to review your settings and check how much space those location have.

Thanks!

kayvonp@re-wa.org
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 13, 2018 1:52 pm
Full Name: KTHP
Contact:

Re: 'Datastore usage on disk' Alarm in VMware for Veeam Proxy

Post by kayvonp@re-wa.org » Nov 16, 2018 6:24 pm

That's kinda what I thought it was, but this particular server isn't used as a mount server for anything. It's only used as a proxy. The server that does act as a mount server is clear.

I do have a C:\ProgramData\Veeam\Backup\NfsDatastore folder on that server, but it is empty.

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5264
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: 'Datastore usage on disk' Alarm in VMware for Veeam Proxy

Post by P.Tide » Nov 16, 2018 6:31 pm

Then, if the disk where the NfsDatatores directories reside at are not in shortage of space, please contact our support team directly so they can dig into the problem, because the described behaviour does not look expected. Once you do please post your case ID here for future reference.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests