Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
evilaedmin
Expert
Posts: 155
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2018 8:04 pm
Full Name: Eugene V
Contact:

Dell SC plugin and firewall requirements

Post by evilaedmin »

Our iscsi networks are separate from our Dell SC management network. The management IP which is represented by the FQDN of the SC device is behind a firewall. The Dell configuration guide only shows a destination port 3033 configured.

Will the plugin then discover the proper ISCSI networks automatically once I add the device to Veeam by its management FQDN?

Thank you,
Eugene

Andreas Neufert
VP, Product Management
Posts: 4368
Liked: 815 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Dell SC plugin and firewall requirements

Post by Andreas Neufert »

Yes.
B&R need access to the Management Network Interface (DNS or IP).
The Veeam Proxy (first proxy is as well on the B&R if you have a all in one server) need access (routed is OK) to the iSCSI nework for the rescanns and Backup from storage snapshot. Beside network connection nothing needed. We configure host entries for our server automatically.

evilaedmin
Expert
Posts: 155
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2018 8:04 pm
Full Name: Eugene V
Contact:

Re: Dell SC plugin and firewall requirements

Post by evilaedmin »

Andreas,

we have a total of four fault domains for SC iscsi using different subnetworks (and VLANS). The plan is to put the proxies on the same network as a single fault domain. None of these networks are routed. Will that continue to be okay?

Is destination port 3033 on the SC device, from the Veeam B&R server or from the proxy or both? Our B&R does not act as a proxy. We have a total of 9 hotadd proxies split across two vCenters in Linked Mode, a site 1 and site 2, with Veeam B&R only in site 2.

Andreas Neufert
VP, Product Management
Posts: 4368
Liked: 815 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Dell SC plugin and firewall requirements

Post by Andreas Neufert »

Hi, you only need to connect the B&R Server with the Storage Management.

Make sure that only the proxies can see the Storage over the needed interfaces and we will create the host entries and everything else accordingly.
You can check at the first Veeam rescan if everything will be mappend and mounted the correct way.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 7 guests