Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
abernut
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 30, 2018 1:24 pm
Full Name: Mike Abernathy
Contact:

Direct SAN Access help

Post by abernut » Nov 16, 2018 7:07 pm

Hello,
I am setting up a new VEEAM 9.5 VM and trying to configure it to use direct SAN access. I have configured the iSCSI initiator and Windows does see the volumes on my SAN.
I am having a hard time of finding what to do next.

Do I first need to create a new Backup repository that points to Volume?

Thanks,

Rick.Vanover
Veeam Software
Posts: 598
Liked: 127 times
Joined: Nov 30, 2010 3:19 pm
Full Name: Rick Vanover
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: Direct SAN Access help

Post by Rick.Vanover » Nov 16, 2018 7:44 pm

Hi Mike, while old, this may help: https://www.veeam.com/blog/direct-san-a ... oxies.html

We do need to have setup a repository - that is where backups "GO" - there is a default backup repository on the C:\ Drive - but I recommend we put it on a dedicated VMDK, a NAS share, a separate iSCSI LUN, etc.

abernut
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 30, 2018 1:24 pm
Full Name: Mike Abernathy
Contact:

Re: Direct SAN Access help

Post by abernut » Nov 16, 2018 8:25 pm

When I try to create a new repository:
New > Microsoft Windows Server > The only path I see is to the C:

Thanks

Rick.Vanover
Veeam Software
Posts: 598
Liked: 127 times
Joined: Nov 30, 2010 3:19 pm
Full Name: Rick Vanover
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: Direct SAN Access help

Post by Rick.Vanover » Nov 16, 2018 8:38 pm

Let's start with this - where do you want to put your backups?

abernut
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 30, 2018 1:24 pm
Full Name: Mike Abernathy
Contact:

Re: Direct SAN Access help

Post by abernut » Nov 16, 2018 8:45 pm

On our Dell SAN via Direct SAN Access.
Steps I have taken...

Created Volume on Dell SAN and gave access to Veeam Server
Configured iSCSI Initiator on Veeam Server. Refreshed the target and I can see the SAN Volume
Ensured windows was not set to auto-mount drives
SAN volume is viewable from Windows Management Console (500GB Offline Disk)

Rick.Vanover
Veeam Software
Posts: 598
Liked: 127 times
Joined: Nov 30, 2010 3:19 pm
Full Name: Rick Vanover
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: Direct SAN Access help

Post by Rick.Vanover » Nov 18, 2018 5:30 pm

Direct SAN is a mechanism to read data for the backup process. Direct SAN is not a mechanism for writing backups.

I think then you want to put a LUN up, assign it to the Veeam server, then format it as ReFS or NTFS and you are good.

I also *strongly* recommend you have backup somewhere outside of the Dell SAN. I have nothing but evidence in the form of Veeam case studies that bad things happen to good storage. And if your VMs and backups are there.....

abernut
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 30, 2018 1:24 pm
Full Name: Mike Abernathy
Contact:

Re: Direct SAN Access help

Post by abernut » Nov 19, 2018 8:54 pm

Rick,
Thanks for the reply.

I'm not sure what's going on with my environment. I tried formatting the drive (ReFS and NTFS) that is connected via the iSCSI initiator I get "Failed to format volume - Invalid Parameter Activity ID: {b0e18171-777e-45ab-99a4-80c10c7a9e89}

abernut
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 30, 2018 1:24 pm
Full Name: Mike Abernathy
Contact:

Re: Direct SAN Access help

Post by abernut » Nov 19, 2018 8:56 pm

Rick,
Can you also give me more details on the Dell SAN issues. Unfortunately we have our entire infrastructure riding on three of them.

Rick.Vanover
Veeam Software
Posts: 598
Liked: 127 times
Joined: Nov 30, 2010 3:19 pm
Full Name: Rick Vanover
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: Direct SAN Access help

Post by Rick.Vanover » Nov 19, 2018 9:56 pm 1 person likes this post

I recommend you stop right away and contact support - it is possible you are trying to take a LUN that is running VMFS and format it.

azizkheri
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 22, 2019 8:12 pm
Full Name: Aziz
Contact:

Re: Direct SAN Access help

Post by azizkheri » Jul 22, 2019 8:57 pm

Hi Rick
WE have two ESXi Host connected to SAN Strage through FC HBA, we want to take backup on new SAN which will directly connect to same Esxi host through HBA and also backup server also connect with HBA to Backup SAN. we are going to user 4 socket license to take the backup of two virtual machine. it will take backup from SAN to SAN ?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16884
Liked: 1433 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Direct SAN Access help

Post by veremin » Jul 24, 2019 2:29 pm

Correct, assuming backup server has direct access to both SAN systems (production datastore, backup repository) and everything is configured properly, you will get a totally LAN-free backup. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests