Disable CBT for Copy Jobs

VMware specific discussions

Disable CBT for Copy Jobs

Veeam Logoby odge » Fri Dec 07, 2012 10:34 am

Is it not possible to Disable CBT for a job copy, like you can for B&R jobs?

Annoyingly get warnings, when I'm fully aware CBT wont work (while copying an existing replica to disks that get taken periodically offsite).

Thanks
odge
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 59
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:20 pm
Full Name: Matthew Ogden

Re: Disable CBT for Copy Jobs

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Dec 07, 2012 10:37 am

Matthew, VM Copy jobs do not use CBT at all, so no warning should be displayed. What kind of warnings do you get?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Disable CBT for Copy Jobs

Veeam Logoby odge » Fri Dec 07, 2012 10:41 am

Just to clarify, its a "VM Copy" job.

Each VM gets a "Changed Block Tracking cannot be enabled: one or more snapshots present."
In addition the VM is off, so this would not work anyway (its an powered-off replica).
odge
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 59
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:20 pm
Full Name: Matthew Ogden

Re: Disable CBT for Copy Jobs

Veeam Logoby odge » Fri Dec 07, 2012 10:54 am

http://forums.veeam.com/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=3703&start=45

v.Eremin suggested a solution of using the power shell to set the setting... will see how the job goes on sunday.
odge
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 59
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:20 pm
Full Name: Matthew Ogden

Re: Disable CBT for Copy Jobs

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:23 am

I've just talked to QC, actually CBT is used in VM Copy jobs to avoid copying of zero blocks. Since you are copying replica (which has snapshots), it cannot be enabled and you get the warning. And since there is no CBT setting in the VM copy job properties, you cannot avoid getting this warning. Probably, the suggested script will help.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Disable CBT for Copy Jobs

Veeam Logoby odge » Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:28 pm

OK, so unfortunately the script did not disable the warnings for all the VMs:

But oddly, on two of the replicas, which are replicas of Veeam Proxies, I dont get the error anymore.
odge
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 59
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:20 pm
Full Name: Matthew Ogden

Re: Disable CBT for Copy Jobs

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:05 pm

CBT is disabled automatically on Veeam backup proxy VMs (due to the known hot add issue around CBT initialization).
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

[MERGED] vm copy warning

Veeam Logoby arsprod » Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:52 pm

I'm using vm copy for my offsite dr - copying a separate set of replicas (other than normal daily series of replication) with 1 restore point and no cbt. Most (but not all) the replicas give a warning about changed block tracking because there's a snapshot present. I'm not seeing the option in vm copy to disable cbt - what am I missing? Oh, running 6.5
arsprod
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 86
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Aaron Spiegel

Re: Disable CBT for Copy Jobs

Veeam Logoby arsprod » Tue Sep 03, 2013 6:50 pm

so I just need to ignore the warnings?!
arsprod
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 86
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Aaron Spiegel

Re: Disable CBT for Copy Jobs

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:14 am

Either ignore them or use the script suggested above to disable CBT on your jobs.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Disable CBT for Copy Jobs

Veeam Logoby odge » Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:54 am

is this setting still not fixable via the GUI in v7?
odge
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 59
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:20 pm
Full Name: Matthew Ogden

Re: Disable CBT for Copy Jobs

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:00 am

Yes, there's no CBT setting available in the VM Copy job wizard in v7.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Disable CBT for Copy Jobs

Veeam Logoby ChuckS42 » Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:14 pm

I use VM Copy to copy VMware Horizon base images. It activates CBT on both sides. This is very bad, because Horizon does not like CBT - Composer cloning operations will error all over the place. So, after making the copy, we have to manually disable CBT on both sides, and re-clone the images. Kind of a pain. It'd be nice if Veeam would recognize that the source of a VM Copy doesn't have CBT enable to start with, then disable it automatically after the copy is done. We're on the latest update of v8.
ChuckS42
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 66
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:53 pm
Full Name: Chuck Stevens

Re: Disable CBT for Copy Jobs

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:19 am

Chuck, ability to disable CBT for VM Copy jobs sounds reasonable, thanks for the feedback.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Disable CBT for Copy Jobs

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:58 am

A simple workaround for now might be usage of PowerCLI scirpt that would disable CBT in automatic fashion. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests