Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
Post Reply
ceemour
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 07, 2011 7:03 pm
Full Name: ceemour

disable register of replica vm

Post by ceemour »

when you perform a replication job the last step "registers" the replica on the esxi host with name vmname_replica
can this be disabled ie the replica exists but does not appear in the list of vms

Chris
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Posts: 27110
Liked: 2719 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: disable register of replica vm

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Chris,

No, that's not possible, but could you please elaborate your feature request?

Thanks.
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Posts: 31516
Liked: 6692 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: disable register of replica vm

Post by Gostev »

There are technical reasons behind VM registration being mandatory. For example, thin disks cannot exist by themselves (just lying on a datastore), they have to be attached to a registered VM.
ceemour
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 07, 2011 7:03 pm
Full Name: ceemour

Re: disable register of replica vm

Post by ceemour »

okay
it seems that with v6 you can specify a destination resource pool which may ease the clutter
also you can make the resource pool unavailable to certain users
I am trying to prevent non admins being able to access the replicas
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], olafurh and 37 guests