Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
marius roma
Expert
Posts: 452
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

Disabling the proxy on the B&R server

Post by marius roma » Jan 07, 2018 7:33 am

I need to disable the proxy on the B&R server and to go on using only Proxies on dedicated servers.
Is there any way to disable the proxy on the B&R server or should I edit each job to specify the proxies to be used?
Regards
Marius

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2646
Liked: 545 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Disabling the proxy on the B&R server

Post by nielsengelen » Jan 07, 2018 1:19 pm

If you remove the default B&R proxy it will be disabled/gone.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1743
Liked: 221 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Disabling the proxy on the B&R server

Post by DGrinev » Jan 07, 2018 7:03 pm 1 person likes this post

You will easily recognize it by the default name "VMware backup proxy" and the default description: "Created by Veeam Backup & Replication". Thanks!

marius roma
Expert
Posts: 452
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

Re: Disabling the proxy on the B&R server

Post by marius roma » Jan 08, 2018 8:02 am

I noticed I can simply disable it. Is there anything else to consider?
Regards
marius

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Disabling the proxy on the B&R server

Post by foggy » Jan 08, 2018 8:06 am 1 person likes this post

No, it is enough to just disable the proxy. It will not be used to process VMs anymore.

marius roma
Expert
Posts: 452
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 01, 2012 12:04 pm
Full Name: Mario
Contact:

Re: Disabling the proxy on the B&R server

Post by marius roma » Jan 19, 2018 2:38 pm

Let me re-open this topic.
The problem is now a little bit more complex.
Imagine a physical Veeam B&R server with 2 network interfaces:
  • 1 interface is connected to a 1 Gbit LAN to communicate with proxy servers hosted by VMware ESXi hosts via the management network
  • 1 interface is connected to a 10 Gbit LAN to communicate via iSCSI to LUNs containing VMware datastores and to communicate via SMB to the NAS hosting the CIFS repository used by backup jobs.
I need to physically unplug the connection to the 10 Gbit LAN.
In my idea, if I disable the "VMware backup proxy" my B&R server will continue communicating with proxies via the 1 Gbit LAN and proxies will go on communicating via the 10 Gbit LAN to either VMware datastores and backup NAS, so backup jobs will go on working and will only suffer due to the lack of a proxy.
Is it correct?
Am I missing any relevant point?
Regards
marius

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Disabling the proxy on the B&R server

Post by foggy » Jan 19, 2018 3:31 pm

Sounds correct. Btw, do you have preferred networks configured, so that the correct network is selected for data processing?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests