Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Edit365
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 22, 2015 5:51 am
Full Name: David Atkin
Contact:

DR site for VMware Essentials

Post by Edit365 » Jan 22, 2015 6:10 am

Hi Guys

We are running Vcentre Server 5 Essentials & VMware vSphere essentials Plus 5 VM's VM's in total

We are planning to Setup a DR Site in a data centre and using Veeam for the replication

Incrementals are currently 80GB a day and to do that over the internet to the DR site will be VERY costly

Plus I am not sure about Vmware licensing at the DR site or Backup Proxies

Any help or another solutions would be appreciated

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: DR site for VMware Essentials

Post by foggy » Jan 22, 2015 7:06 am

David, if you're on Veeam B&R v8, you can use WAN accelerated replication to optimize data transfer to DR site.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: DR site for VMware Essentials

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 22, 2015 11:03 am

...and you don't need any license keys for backup proxy servers on the remote site.

Edit365
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 22, 2015 5:51 am
Full Name: David Atkin
Contact:

Re: DR site for VMware Essentials

Post by Edit365 » Jan 22, 2015 10:21 pm

I plan to use B&R v8 Enterprise plus with WAN accelerator

What about the size of data is there a way to compress that data with losing consistency?

You wouldn't happen to know what VMware license I need at the DR site

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: DR site for VMware Essentials

Post by foggy » Jan 23, 2015 10:50 am

Depending on actual workloads, WAN acceleration provides up to 50x reduction of transferred data size.

Lex
Enthusiast
Posts: 39
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 23, 2014 8:37 am
Contact:

Re: DR site for VMware Essentials

Post by Lex » Jan 23, 2015 7:46 pm

Well, based on my setup, it could go either way on the wan traffic (this is all one and the same replication job with very various outcomes in traffic):
Backup size stays stable, but the actually transfer size various every day.

Success 1 Start time 09:33:00 Total size 580,0 GB Backup size 8,9 GB
Warning 0 End time 18:54:54 Data read 191,7 GB Dedupe 1,0x
Error 0 Duration 9:21:53 Transferred 24,5 GB Compression 1,0x

Success 1 Start time 00:39:19 Total size 580,0 GB Backup size 8,9 GB
Warning 0 End time 02:21:19 Data read 191,8 GB Dedupe 1,0x
Error 0 Duration 1:42:00 Transferred 131,2 MB Compression 1,0x

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: DR site for VMware Essentials

Post by foggy » Jan 23, 2015 8:41 pm

Are both job runs incremental?

Lex
Enthusiast
Posts: 39
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 23, 2014 8:37 am
Contact:

Re: DR site for VMware Essentials

Post by Lex » Jan 23, 2015 10:49 pm

It is one and the same job, just the logs from different days, it runs after a normal backup job.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: DR site for VMware Essentials

Post by foggy » Jan 26, 2015 9:47 am

And what are the corresponding Transferred counter for the backup job runs then? Just trying to verify whether the difference is coming from the actual amount of changes occurred inside VM or the pattern of those changes (most of the data can already be in cache, so not transferred).

Lex
Enthusiast
Posts: 39
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 23, 2014 8:37 am
Contact:

Re: DR site for VMware Essentials

Post by Lex » Jan 26, 2015 3:17 pm

Backup job: 17:02:01 17:05:28 580,0 GB 1,4 GB 345,1 MB 0:03:26
Replication job: 09:33:36 17:22:44 580,0 GB 191,7 GB 24,5 GB 7:49:07

Backup job: 17:02:06 17:51:16 580,0 GB 191,8 GB 231,5 MB 0:49:10
Replication job: 17:02:04 17:54:19 580,0 GB 191,8 GB 277,5 MB 0:52:15

As stated to one of the valued support engineers, it should not behave like this but as long as it is working for me i can live with it. They have tyhe full logs. case id 00716790
I really do not get any grip or understanding as of why what is being backupped. As far as i can test with the machines that have been replicated, all is replicated and from restore test wthin backup jobs all is backupped.
But why what is being processed, no logic does exist.
It does not mean the product isn't working, this simply reflects my observation.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: DR site for VMware Essentials

Post by foggy » Jan 26, 2015 3:41 pm

As I've mentioned above, this could have several explanations, hard to guess on the provided numbers solely. Besides, I can see that job start times vary, so amount of changes between job cycles can differ. Our tech guys can say more after reviewing the logs.

Lex
Enthusiast
Posts: 39
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 23, 2014 8:37 am
Contact:

Re: DR site for VMware Essentials

Post by Lex » Jan 26, 2015 5:41 pm

foggy wrote:Our tech guys can say more after reviewing the logs.
Sorry to say, they are nice guys doing their best, but apart from can you re-setup. No clues what so ever.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: DR site for VMware Essentials

Post by foggy » Jan 26, 2015 9:45 pm

You can always ask for the case escalation to a higher tier for further/deeper investigation.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests