Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
dmyers33
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Don Myers

DR Site Questions

Post by dmyers33 »

I am new to Veeam, so excuse if I'm asking questions that have already been answered.
I just want to gain a better architectural understanding

Production Site
2 ESXi servers
20-30 VMs
v Center VM
Veeam Virtual machine

NAS Storage
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WAN
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR Site
2 ESXi servers
Veeam Virtual machine
?? Create VMs

NAS Storage

DR Site
I am assuming that I have to have a network setup exactly like the Production site?
I create the DR ESXi and attach to datastore(s) big enough to handle the replicated VM plus snapshots
What do I have to do to the Veeam server to get it ready to "catch" the replicated VMs

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We need to do basic replication so that we can recover in an emergency 4 hr RTO
OR
Actually run the VMs at the DR site

1. Do I have to create the VMs at the recovery site first or will veeam do that?
2. What is the process flow on the replication?
3. Do I need a backup proxy at both locations / suggested?
4. Does Veeam just update the underling disk files on the ESXi?
5. When I create a new VM at the production site, will it be automatically created at the DR site
6. To actually run the DR VM's do I just login as usual? Do I get full functionality?

Thanks all
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6647 times

Re: DR Site Questions

Post by Gostev »

Hi Don, please read up the sticky FAQ topic and the User Guide, which cover all of these questions in great details. Otherwise, it would be too much of someone's time on copy/paste work with no value to this community.