Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
mintyevertonian
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 12, 2013 9:55 am
Full Name: fintan quinn
Contact:

DR Site

Post by mintyevertonian » Dec 03, 2013 4:23 pm

Hi All

How Does Veeam work in a DR site scenario?

I have a second site with an ESX host for DR
This is also the site where I have my Wan accelerator and repository

In a DR scenario where I wanted to recover VM's at this site Can I have VEEAM installed on another server with the same Veeam license say on the Wan accelerator server?

Revoke

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: DR Site

Post by foggy » Dec 04, 2013 7:09 am

Yes, since Veeam B&R is licensed per CPU socket of the source hosts (where backed up VMs reside). If you are not backing up VMs on the host, it does not need to be licensed.

mintyevertonian
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 12, 2013 9:55 am
Full Name: fintan quinn
Contact:

Re: DR Site

Post by mintyevertonian » Dec 04, 2013 1:56 pm

Will I be able to restore to another host? (not one used for backup)

I will probably have to revoke the license and add it to this DR host?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: DR Site

Post by foggy » Dec 04, 2013 2:12 pm

You will be able to restore to any other unlicensed host. License is required for the host when you start backing up/replicating VMs residing on it.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests