Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
lennis40
Expert
Posts: 123
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 11, 2014 11:03 pm
Full Name: Michael
Contact:

Encrypted

Post by lennis40 » Jan 21, 2015 3:30 pm

I just noticed that I have 3 backups listed as Encrypted under the backup section of the interface. I am not sure exactly where those are coming from, or what, if anything, I need to do with them? Options are specify password, or remove from backups.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18261
Liked: 1561 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Encrypted

Post by foggy » Jan 21, 2015 3:33 pm

Can you check whether you have enabled data encryption for the corresponding backup jobs?

lennis40
Expert
Posts: 123
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 11, 2014 11:03 pm
Full Name: Michael
Contact:

Re: Encrypted

Post by lennis40 » Jan 21, 2015 3:46 pm

I do have encryption enabled or all jobs, but only one of them is showing up under Encrypted. The others all appear under Disk.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18261
Liked: 1561 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Encrypted

Post by foggy » Jan 21, 2015 3:56 pm

Any chance those backups were recently imported (yet no password was provided)?

lennis40
Expert
Posts: 123
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 11, 2014 11:03 pm
Full Name: Michael
Contact:

Re: Encrypted

Post by lennis40 » Jan 21, 2015 3:59 pm

I have not used the import option for any of my backup jobs. This job does have a backup copy job, but import wasn't used in this case.

lennis40
Expert
Posts: 123
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 11, 2014 11:03 pm
Full Name: Michael
Contact:

Re: Encrypted

Post by lennis40 » Jan 22, 2015 2:49 pm

Any ideas here? Am I able to remove them without issue? The backup job for this VM is completing fine, along with the backup copy job, so I'm not really sure what I would need these for, or again, where they came from.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18261
Liked: 1561 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Encrypted

Post by foggy » Jan 22, 2015 3:10 pm

You can try to remove them from the console first and see whether all your jobs continue to run smoothly.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 31 guests