Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
didier-hosteur
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 07, 2013 8:38 pm

Entire job failing for one missing vm

Post by didier-hosteur » Aug 07, 2013 8:43 pm

Hi,

I have a veeam server backuping one big vcenter 5 server.
Rather than backuping all the vcenter then adding vms to exclude list, i manually check vm to be backed up.
When my admin system removes vm (on purpose) the entire job fails but only that lissing vm should be failing.

Any idea how i could fix that ? Giving that i really need not to use the exclude list (vm are added automatically to vcenter all day, not all to be backed up).

Thanks !

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24813
Liked: 3573 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Entire job failing for one missing vm

Post by Gostev » Aug 07, 2013 9:34 pm

Hello - the job should not be failing in this case, only missing VM should. Other VMs should be backed up normally. If you are not seeing this, please open a support case. Thanks!

yizhar
Service Provider
Posts: 181
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Sep 03, 2012 5:28 am
Full Name: Yizhar Hurwitz
Contact:

Re: Entire job failing for one missing vm

Post by yizhar » Aug 07, 2013 9:58 pm

Hi.

I suggest that you consider using VMware folders in vcenter, then configure Veeam to backup by folder.
Instruct VMware admins to create VMs in the appropriate folder.
For example, a "test" or "dev" folder will have different backup jobs if any,
while "production" (or more specific folder if you like) will be selected for regular backups.

Yizhar

didier-hosteur
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 07, 2013 8:38 pm

Re: Entire job failing for one missing vm

Post by didier-hosteur » Aug 14, 2013 9:54 am

Hi,

The job failing only shows the one VM not found, which it realizes when creating VM list then does not proceed the other VMs.
I thought of vmware folders but not quite something i want to setup.

I guess I'll have to open a support case.. But i think this behavior is a mess

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18291
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Entire job failing for one missing vm

Post by foggy » Aug 14, 2013 10:50 am

Sure, the most efficient way to address issues like that is opening a case with our technical team. It would be much appreciated if you could update the thread on the results of the investigation. Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23010
Liked: 1560 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Entire job failing for one missing vm

Post by Vitaliy S. » Aug 14, 2013 11:09 am

didier-hosteur wrote:When my admin system removes vm (on purpose) the entire job fails but only that lissing vm should be failing.
Do you possibly mean that the job status has a failed status? Can you please open the corresponding job session and check what the protection status for other VMs?

didier-hosteur
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 07, 2013 8:38 pm

Re: Entire job failing for one missing vm

Post by didier-hosteur » Aug 26, 2013 12:47 pm

Hi,

Sorry, i was on vacation.

Here are two screenshots. On the first you can see they are many other objects in the job.

Image
Image

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18291
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Entire job failing for one missing vm

Post by foggy » Aug 26, 2013 1:00 pm

In fact there is only one VM in the job (sds-135...), according to the screenshot.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Entire job failing for one missing vm

Post by veremin » Aug 26, 2013 1:28 pm

Also, the screenshots contain information about retries only.

From the information given, the whole situation seems to be expected - the only VM that hadn’t been backed up successfully fell into job retries. Because VM wasn’t backed up even during retries, retries finished with the “Failed” status.

Thanks.

didier-hosteur
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 07, 2013 8:38 pm

Re: Entire job failing for one missing vm

Post by didier-hosteur » Aug 29, 2013 1:31 pm

I just feel so dumb :/

I'm deeply sorry for having asked such a dumb question, really ^^'

I didn't take under advisement that it was showing the 3rd retry, meaning on first try the other VMs in the job went fine.

Thank you very much for your time and again.. sorry

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16908
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Entire job failing for one missing vm

Post by veremin » Aug 29, 2013 1:41 pm

You’re welcome. Glad to hear that the whole situation has been finally clarified, and that today you can enjoy backup/replication functionality without any issues. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PetrM and 11 guests