Error after vSphere update

VMware specific discussions

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:06 pm

The error refers to the source datastore, make sure your datastore supports maximum files size to host a snapshot of that VM.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:21 pm

Also what vSphere version you're at?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby easton » Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:02 pm

foggy wrote:The error refers to the source datastore, make sure your datastore supports maximum files size to host a snapshot of that VM.


Would I have to change the block size of the datastore?

Vitaliy S. wrote:Also what vSphere version you're at?


5.1.0
easton
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 2:21 pm

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:30 am

You either need to change the block size of the source datastore, which will require reformatting, or upgrade VMFS version to the latest one. Please see Foggy's link above for more info.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] destination drive is too small but backup isnt

Veeam Logoby Kirchner1990 » Mon Aug 22, 2016 7:10 am

Hi together,

I have a problem concerning VeeamZip. I want to backup with VeeamZIP or Veeam Backup and Replication to an external disc.
- The source disc is for example a 4 TB VMware Volume (ESX)
- The Destination disc is a 3 TB external disc
- The files on the source disc is 1 TB.

The Problem now is, that the backup always says this: "File <unspecified filename> is larger than the maximum size supported by datastore '<unspecified datastore> Creating VM snapshot"
Veeam seems to check the size of the source disc and if it COULD fix. It does not try it.

Can I bypass this check?! If veeam would simply make the backup, then it would fit the Destination 3 TB drive :-( but it doesn't
And I can't shrink the source without spending a lot of work and time for it.

Thanks for your help!!
Greetz, Valentino
Kirchner1990
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 6:38 am

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Aug 22, 2016 10:31 am

Hi, Valentino,

The provided error doesn't say anything regarding backup destination, instead it refers to production datastore the given VM resides on.

For more information, kindly, check the answers above.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Error after vSphere update

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Aug 22, 2016 10:54 am

If you cannot reformat/migrate to another VMFS version, then using Veeam Endpoint Backup might be a good workaround for that.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Previous

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests