Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
devzero
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 07, 2011 9:05 pm
Full Name: rolandk
Contact:

Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by devzero »

I`m testing Veeam v6 with vSphere4.x. The vSphere Server is at a remote location and did not yet receive all recent vSphere upgrades.

Any clues what`s going wrong here?

http://minus.com/#!/mbcqTbjMO8/1

I have difficulties interpreting the error message (what is a banks pool?) and did not find anything via google or by searching the forum.

thanks in advance!

regards
Roland

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5679
Liked: 2497 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by tsightler »

Difficult to tell from a screenshot, but I believe that "banks pool" refers to an internal structure within the Veeam backup file format. I don't really think that is the problem, more of a symptom. The initial warning "timed out waiting for all VDDK disk to close" would imply some type of issue, perhaps a communications issue. Where exactly is the Veeam server, proxy, and repository in relation to the data you are attempting to back up?

If there are no obvious issue with WAN bandwidth or server placement then you should probably run this one through support.

devzero
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 07, 2011 9:05 pm
Full Name: rolandk
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by devzero »

the esx server, the backup proxy and the backup repository is at the remote location, and the veeam server is at the local location.
as far as i know, there are no firewall rules in place. furthermore, the backup worked sometimes, so this problem cannot be reproduced 100%.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26700
Liked: 4276 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by Gostev »

Hi Roland, what is your support case number for this? Devs want to see the debug logs. Thanks.

devzero
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 07, 2011 9:05 pm
Full Name: rolandk
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by devzero »

we have not bought v6 yet, but if it`s ok with the trial, then i will open an SR tomorrow. thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24256
Liked: 1863 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Yes, any customer who is on the official trial license period is eligible for support.

devzero
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 07, 2011 9:05 pm
Full Name: rolandk
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by devzero »

i have submitted SR ID#5170206 for this today

lra_tue
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 10, 2011 1:47 pm
Full Name: T.Mack
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by lra_tue »

We have exactly the same problem here, using vSphere 5 and VEEAM 6.
We're using a VM as "Backup Proxy" in "Virtual Appliance"-Mode and VEEAM Backup & Replication on a Hardware Machine.

Is there any solution yet?

Regards,
Tobias

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19463
Liked: 1767 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by foggy »

Tobias, according to the OP's support case, the issue has not been resolved yet (besides, the case related e-mail thread is in German so I don't have any idea what it is all about :)). I would suggest to create your own case to be able to help support to find a resolution. Thanks.

MB-NS
Enthusiast
Posts: 41
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 01, 2009 10:18 am
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by MB-NS »

Hello,

same here, Veeam 6.5, vSphere 5.1.

I would be interested in the result of the support case, if there is any.

Thanks

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5679
Liked: 2497 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by tsightler »

How big is your backup job, how much memory is on your proxy and repository server, and what block sizes are you using (Local, LAN, WAN)?

baa
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: May 15, 2012 7:16 am
Full Name: Albert
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by baa »

Good day! Just have similar error:
"Removing VM snapshot. Timed out waiting for all VDDK disks to close. Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended." vSphere 4.1, Veeam 6.5, a repository on a physical machine. Is there a solution?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17834
Liked: 1662 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by veremin »

Hi, Albert. The abovementioned questions can be applied to your case, as well.
How big is your backup job, how much memory is on your proxy and repository server, and what block sizes are you using (Local, LAN, WAN)?

baa
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: May 15, 2012 7:16 am
Full Name: Albert
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by baa »

VM (backup job) - 281 gb (sum all vhd)
repository server (physical) - free 1,5 Tb (1,6Tb)
datastore - free 115 gb (capacity 408 gb )
block sizes - Local


p.s.:It appears that the files were from snapshots. How to make a consolidation?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17834
Liked: 1662 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by veremin »

Ok, and what about RAM memory allocated to both backup repository and proxy? Thanks.

baa
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: May 15, 2012 7:16 am
Full Name: Albert
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by baa »

v.Eremin wrote:Ok, and what about RAM memory allocated to both backup repository and proxy? Thanks.
repository - 3,5 gb
proxy - capcity 8 Gb/ usage 2 gb

Image

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17834
Liked: 1662 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Error: Client error: Banks pool is suspended

Post by veremin »

Also, are there any network problems in your environment?

Previously similar issue has been reported in cases where the .vbk file grows large and proxy server, having little resources allocated, becomes exhausted while trying to perform compression/deduplication activity. Typically, switching block size to default value was supposed to fix this behavior.

However, the said issue should have been addressed years ago. So, it might be worth opening a ticket with our support team and letting them investigate it directly.
It appears that the files were from snapshots. How to make a consolidation?
Could you elaborate on it a little bit, since I’m not sure what you've meant here? In order to consolidate “orphaned” snapshots you should take a new snapshot and consolidate it afterwards.
Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aleng-cpi, TedLaurent and 25 guests