Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
ashleyw
Service Provider
Posts: 154
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson
Contact:

error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by ashleyw » Feb 06, 2017 10:32 pm

Hi,

We have recently updated to Vsphere 6.5 and moved to the vcentre appliance and running the latest patch set for Veeam 9.5 to support vsphere 6.5.

We are seeing replicas failing with messages of "Processing configuration Error: A specified parameter was not correct: spec.vmProfile
Error: A specified parameter was not correct: spec.vmProfile"

support number #02058409.

We have tried rescaning/recreating replica jobs etc. The only reference I can see to vmProfile is a reference to it in the http://pubs.vmware.com/Release_Notes/en ... nownissues

so perhaps something has changed?
Is anyone else picking up these issues or have any ideas?
The VMs are running hw level 13 and their vmware tools are up to date.

thanks.

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3820
Liked: 687 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by Andreas Neufert » Feb 07, 2017 9:13 am

spec.vmProfile is a setting from the vSAN Storage Policy configuration. Can you please change the Storage Policy within your vSAN for this VM (and back) and try again?

More Background informations:
http://www.virtuallyghetto.com/2014/03/ ... olicy.html

As well an option would be to create a support ticket and upload logs (support do not monitor this forum actively).

ashleyw
Service Provider
Posts: 154
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by ashleyw » Feb 07, 2017 8:18 pm

hi Andreas, thanks, we are not running vSAN (our primary storage is on fibre connected Nimble storage). I have gone into the VM though and changed the storage policy to something other than the "datastore default" and then went back and selected "datastore default", but still get the same error.
the support ticket number is 02058409. I think I'm battling with timezones (in terms of support) being in NZ - I will escalate with support.

m_zolkin
Veeam Software
Posts: 26
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Aug 26, 2009 1:13 pm
Full Name: Mikhail Zolkin
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by m_zolkin » Feb 07, 2017 9:33 pm

Hi Ashley, we do have a customer support team based in Sydney, so we are pretty closed to your time zone. Your request has been escalated, please expect a response from a senior engineer shortly.
VP, WW Customer Technical Support

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3820
Liked: 687 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by Andreas Neufert » Feb 07, 2017 9:35 pm

Thanks for this feedback.
I see that you had opened support case with severity 4 which has the lowest reaction time. You can find a severity statement description directly on the same page.
So we lost time there. Our Team in Sydney are working on that case now and I brought this case to support managements attention.

ashleyw
Service Provider
Posts: 154
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by ashleyw » Feb 07, 2017 9:53 pm 1 person likes this post

thanks, I think I've just discovered what the issue was.
Our replica LUN appears twice - firstly under the "VM Encryption Policy" drop down in the datastore target on the job, and then again under "default policy".
I believe we were inadvertently selecting the replica LUN from the "VM Encryption Policy" drop down rather than the replica LUN form the "default policy" and this was what was breaking the job.
Once we selected the "default policy" as the target things started to work as expected.

cheers
Ashley

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3820
Liked: 687 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by Andreas Neufert » Feb 07, 2017 10:10 pm

Excellent. Thank you for this update.

lars@norstat.no
Expert
Posts: 109
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Nov 01, 2011 1:44 pm
Full Name: Lars Skjønberg
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by lars@norstat.no » Feb 13, 2017 1:14 pm

Just wanted to check in and say i had the same problem and the same solution fixed it for me. Now the question is, why is that choice there and how do i get rid of it ? Seems kind of confusing, placing that replica breaking choice there.

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3820
Liked: 687 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by Andreas Neufert » Feb 13, 2017 1:23 pm

Can you add a screenshot please ?

lars@norstat.no
Expert
Posts: 109
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Nov 01, 2011 1:44 pm
Full Name: Lars Skjønberg
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by lars@norstat.no » Feb 13, 2017 1:30 pm

A screen shot of what ?

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3820
Liked: 687 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by Andreas Neufert » Feb 13, 2017 1:55 pm

Of the double choice, so that we can show it to some of the support team or expert in that field.

lars@norstat.no
Expert
Posts: 109
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Nov 01, 2011 1:44 pm
Full Name: Lars Skjønberg
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by lars@norstat.no » Feb 13, 2017 2:07 pm

I would think they would know where this is in their own product, but ok. Now how do i post a screenshot here ?

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3820
Liked: 687 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by Andreas Neufert » Feb 13, 2017 2:20 pm

Maybe I just don´t understand the root cause.
You have a normal VM and have selected a encrypted target storage policy manually (the wrong one)?
Or was it VMware that placed the VM automatically in the wrong policy?

You can upload the screenshot to a system of you choice and add a link here.

hbroich
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 07, 2017 3:05 pm
Full Name: Hartmut Broich
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by hbroich » Apr 07, 2017 3:23 pm

Hi, i have allways the same Problem after upgrading to VMware 6.5 . I have two VMware-Server with 4TB Raid-5 System on each Server. When i will create a Replica i get also the error above, but i do not have a "default policy"-Tab by chosing the destination Datastore. I have the Veeam Backup Vers. 9.5 Update2.
Kind Regards
Hartmut

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by foggy » Apr 10, 2017 11:00 am

Hartmut, have you contacted technical support with this?

WhatEverDHC
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 15, 2017 7:26 am
Full Name: Dennis Houmøller Christensen
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by WhatEverDHC » Jun 15, 2017 7:34 am

Thanks a lot! :)
This was the same issue I had.

Edit the job, go to "Destination"
Click "Choose" under "Data store"
Branch out the entire Tree (click the arrows)
Choose the data store you want, under "Default Policy"
NOT under "VM Encryption Policy" (which is the first / top option)

Regards.
-Dennis

georgewkenny
Veeam Software
Posts: 23
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2017 12:01 pm
Full Name: George Kenny
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by georgewkenny » Aug 16, 2017 1:30 pm

Copy and pasted image below of the destination required to ensure you're selecting the default policy for replica target datastore

Image

https://blogs.vmware.com/vsphere/2016/1 ... urity.html

Daveyd
Expert
Posts: 283
Liked: 11 times
Joined: May 20, 2010 4:17 pm
Full Name: Dave DeLollis
Contact:

Re: error on replication jobs since vsphere 6.5 migration.

Post by Daveyd » Jan 22, 2018 4:25 pm

I am having the same issue trying to do a Quick migration to a 6.5 VC/Host, however, when choosing the Datastore(s) I do not have a "Default Policy" selection, the only option I have is "VMware Encryption Policy". I have not setup nor configured any encryption settings. I would assume the "Default Policy" should be listed?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 7 guests