Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
michaelryancook
Expert
Posts: 116
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Nov 26, 2013 6:13 pm
Full Name: Michael Cook
Contact:

Evacuation of SOBR extent question

Post by michaelryancook » Apr 12, 2017 7:10 pm

I am evacuating an extent in an SOBR. I was expecting Veeam to use multiple extents as the target but it appears to select only one. The SOBR policy is set to performance. Am I misunderstanding something concerning the evacuation process?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16815
Liked: 1358 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Evacuation of SOBR extent question

Post by foggy » Apr 13, 2017 11:58 am

Hi Michael, are you evacuating extent where full backups reside? Basically, evacuation uses the same logic as backup jobs, so the policy should be respected. However, there's a known issue where on evacuating extent with full backups, they could be placed on the same extent, where corresponding increments are already located. Among other reasons for the observed behavior are insufficient space on other extents to meet the performance policy or extent unavailability.

michaelryancook
Expert
Posts: 116
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Nov 26, 2013 6:13 pm
Full Name: Michael Cook
Contact:

Re: Evacuation of SOBR extent question

Post by michaelryancook » Apr 13, 2017 5:16 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Foggy. Thank you for the reply. There were full backups on these extents. That may have been the cause. Space was sufficient. I was hoping evacuation may have helped me balance my data across some new extents. I ended up moving the files manually and rescanning.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16815
Liked: 1358 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Evacuation of SOBR extent question

Post by foggy » Apr 14, 2017 10:58 am

Yes, this seems to be it. This issue is going to be addressed in the next version.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: NightBird, salimruffin and 39 guests