Exchange DR Testing

VMware specific discussions

Exchange DR Testing

Veeam Logoby kjc3303 » Fri Jul 17, 2015 10:13 am

Hi All

Firstly I know this is not technically a Veeam question and more of a MS one but I know you are all good guys on here and will help if you can :D

I have run with domino for years now and veeam has protected fine apart from no app-aware processing this year have migrated to Exchnage and am planning my first DR test. Have tested backup and all works great :D ( surebackup, AIR etc)

Set up

Site A
AD Site A
Subnet 10.1.A.0/24
vCenter 1
Veeam B&R 1(Used for backups)
DC 1 (DNS, GC)
DC 2 (DNS, GC)
Exchange 2010 CAS/HT
Exchange 2010 MB

Site B
AD Site B
Subnet 10.1.B.0/24
vCenter 2
Veeam B&R 2 (Used for replication)
DC 3 (DNS, GC, Holds all FSMO)
DC 4 (DNS, GC)
Exchange 2010 CAS/HT -Replica
Exchange 2010 MB -Replica


The two sites(and some satellite sites) are connected via a MPLS network with a core breakout.

I have 2 questions

If I start up the exchange replicas re-ip them to subnet B in AD site B change the NAT rule on breakout firewall to point to new CAS/HT IP, make sure DNS is all updates ( Flush Cache etc) will it all work?
Will AD have any problems with me moving the exchange servers across AD Sites, will the EX servers automatically look at the local DC's?

To use SureReplica will i need to replicate a DC from site A to use in the application group?

Can anyone else who has done this give me any further tips.

Cheers

Kev
kjc3303
Expert
 
Posts: 167
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:25 pm
Location: Cheshire
Full Name: Kevin Clarke

Re: Exchange DR Testing

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Sat Jul 18, 2015 8:28 pm

kjc3303 wrote:To use SureReplica will i need to replicate a DC from site A to use in the application group?


Hi,
yes, without a DC your Exchange Server Information Store will not start. So if you want to test the information store as well... Yes
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2201
Liked: 360 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: Exchange DR Testing

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Sat Jul 18, 2015 8:36 pm

Regarding your other question...

Your try to restore a VM with a different IP address and DNS settings. Never tested such an environment. I suggest to setup 2 test networks with test VMs and test this out.

In theory your Exchange Server will register the new IP addresses in the DNS and after that everything works fine.
Please check with MS if this is a supported way (restoring Exchange Server with a different IP address,...)

Maybe it is an option to use MPLS Layer2 and span the vlan of the Exchange Server to the second site and place the Exchange Servers there so that you do not have to deal with this.
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2201
Liked: 360 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: Exchange DR Testing

Veeam Logoby kjc3303 » Mon Jul 20, 2015 7:36 am

Thanks Andreas.
kjc3303
Expert
 
Posts: 167
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:25 pm
Location: Cheshire
Full Name: Kevin Clarke

Re: Exchange DR Testing

Veeam Logoby kjc3303 » Mon Jul 20, 2015 9:14 am 1 person likes this post

*****UPDATE - TESTED AND ALL WORKING *****

TEST STEPS

Create isolated network on DR site
Clone DR site DC
Add Cloned DC, CAS/HT & MB VM's to Isolated Network
Boot DC, give a little time for DNS to sync, services to come up etc
Boot CAS\HT & MB VM re-ip to DR subnet, set dns to point at cloned DC
Reboot both CAS\HT & MB VM's
Check DNS updates
Test Mail via OWA
Start sleepng at night again :D

Would still need to change NAT config for External mail.

Kev
kjc3303
Expert
 
Posts: 167
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:25 pm
Location: Cheshire
Full Name: Kevin Clarke

Re: Exchange DR Testing

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Mon Jul 20, 2015 12:21 pm

Cool. Thanks for the feedback.

For those who try this with a DAG. Don´t forget that you need 2 DAG member + Whitness in the lab.
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2201
Liked: 360 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests