Failover - Infrastructure vs Replica

VMware specific discussions

Failover - Infrastructure vs Replica

Veeam Logoby cdfosburg » Wed May 13, 2015 6:16 pm

Hello All,

I have been looking to implement a fail over plan here for some key servers that are backed up by Veeam. Is there benefit to using Infrastructure vs Replica?

And not to ask the silly questions, but what exactly is a "replica" in the case of Veeam.
cdfosburg
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 9:14 pm

Re: Failover - Infrastructure vs Replica

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed May 13, 2015 9:16 pm 1 person likes this post

cdfosburg wrote:I have been looking to implement a fail over plan here for some key servers that are backed up by Veeam. Is there benefit to using Infrastructure vs Replica?

It does not really matters, both are just ways to select the VMs you want to fail over. In both cases they will be replicated to their replicas.

cdfosburg wrote:And not to ask the silly questions, but what exactly is a "replica" in the case of Veeam.

Replica VM in terms of Veeam B&R is a fully functional copy of the original VM on the target host, stored in native format.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15089
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Failover - Infrastructure vs Replica

Veeam Logoby djmc » Sat Feb 04, 2017 12:19 am

Hi
What is the difference between failover from replica and failover from infrastructure?

D
djmc
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 12:40 am
Full Name: Declan McCann

Re: Failover - Infrastructure vs Replica

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:31 am

Just different ways to select desired replica VM, the failover process in both cases will be exactly the same.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13558
Liked: 1006 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests