Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
cdfosburg
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 07, 2015 9:14 pm
Contact:

Failover - Infrastructure vs Replica

Post by cdfosburg » May 13, 2015 6:16 pm

Hello All,

I have been looking to implement a fail over plan here for some key servers that are backed up by Veeam. Is there benefit to using Infrastructure vs Replica?

And not to ask the silly questions, but what exactly is a "replica" in the case of Veeam.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18036
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Failover - Infrastructure vs Replica

Post by foggy » May 13, 2015 9:16 pm 1 person likes this post

cdfosburg wrote:I have been looking to implement a fail over plan here for some key servers that are backed up by Veeam. Is there benefit to using Infrastructure vs Replica?
It does not really matters, both are just ways to select the VMs you want to fail over. In both cases they will be replicated to their replicas.
cdfosburg wrote:And not to ask the silly questions, but what exactly is a "replica" in the case of Veeam.
Replica VM in terms of Veeam B&R is a fully functional copy of the original VM on the target host, stored in native format.

djmc
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 02, 2013 12:40 am
Full Name: Declan McCann
Contact:

Re: Failover - Infrastructure vs Replica

Post by djmc » Feb 04, 2017 12:19 am

Hi
What is the difference between failover from replica and failover from infrastructure?

D

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16699
Liked: 1394 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Failover - Infrastructure vs Replica

Post by veremin » Feb 06, 2017 11:31 am

Just different ways to select desired replica VM, the failover process in both cases will be exactly the same.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Kevin.OBrien and 20 guests