Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
saintdle
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 80
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Aug 05, 2014 1:13 pm
Full Name: Dean lewis
Contact:

Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCenter

Post by saintdle » Jul 03, 2015 3:11 pm

I've had two customers where for various issues their vCenters had issues, so Veeam backups failed as it couldnt talk to vCenter. However the ESXi hosts have been up and running perfectly.

Is is possible in the future to be able to provide credentials for VMware ESXi hosts, and should vCenter be unavailable, Veeam goes and hunts where the VM's are on each ESXi host and still backs them up. Obviousloy logging the fact its had to do this.
Technical Architect
Veeam Certified Architect
Various other stuff
Personal Technical Blog - www.educationalcentre.co.uk

scidoner
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Jul 07, 2013 4:43 am
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Post by scidoner » Jul 05, 2015 1:01 pm

I'm not sure the storage APIs which Veeam uses for backup are available without vCenter.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22965
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 05, 2015 8:42 pm

I believe this could be an option, but in this case all backup jobs will start doing full backups, because VM IDs are completely different within the vCenter Server and ESXi hosts.

saintdle
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 80
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Aug 05, 2014 1:13 pm
Full Name: Dean lewis
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Post by saintdle » Jul 06, 2015 7:56 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:I believe this could be an option, but in this case all backup jobs will start doing full backups, because VM IDs are completely different within the vCenter Server and ESXi hosts.
Personally I don't see this is as a bad trade off.

As after that backup and been notified you should look into the issue as well.

Maybe it could be an option you tick rather than on by default
Technical Architect
Veeam Certified Architect
Various other stuff
Personal Technical Blog - www.educationalcentre.co.uk

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16867
Liked: 1429 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Post by veremin » Jul 06, 2015 10:01 am

There would be even two full backup cycles: first when you switch from vCenter to ESX(i), second when you switch back. So, for many of our customers that might result in repository being overfilled.

Anyway, thank you for sharing your thoughts; much appreciated.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22965
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 06, 2015 10:07 am

As a workaround for now, you can copy your existing jobs (including all the settings) and then configure them to use standalone ESXi host connections. In order to do that, you need to add ESXi hosts via IP address and add VMs to the jobs you've cloned via that connection. Thanks!

larry
Expert
Posts: 387
Liked: 92 times
Joined: Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Post by larry » Jul 06, 2015 7:26 pm 1 person likes this post

You can add a script on failure of VC backup job start failover job, then it will only run if main job failed.

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5732
Liked: 1622 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Post by dellock6 » Jul 06, 2015 9:40 pm

At least for the MorefID part of this discussion, actually ESXi IDs are maintained even when the host is connected to vCenter. Simply, vCenter IDs are used. But if both vCenter MorefID and ESXi IDs are stored somehow, I think it would be possible to "failover" to ESXi IDs if vCenter is not available.
However, I see vMotion as a possible issue as ESXi ID will be changed at any host change. This could not easily solved as, if vCenter is down, we don not have any way to track back where the VM has moved based on the vCenter ID (vCenter is down) neither the ESXi ID (changed since last time we checked maybe). Also HA could kick in, without vCenter being u and running.

I see this as a complicated solution, subject to errors in its behaviour, and with limited use cases.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

saintdle
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 80
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Aug 05, 2014 1:13 pm
Full Name: Dean lewis
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Post by saintdle » Jul 07, 2015 8:28 am

Fair enough, it was just a suggestion, as I'd been thinking about it since coming across a vcenter down issue for two customers who then missed backups. Thats why'd I thought I'd post on the forums as I know that I'd get great feedback as above.

Thanks for looking at this request though,
Technical Architect
Veeam Certified Architect
Various other stuff
Personal Technical Blog - www.educationalcentre.co.uk

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests