Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCenter

VMware specific discussions

Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCenter

Veeam Logoby saintdle » Fri Jul 03, 2015 3:11 pm

I've had two customers where for various issues their vCenters had issues, so Veeam backups failed as it couldnt talk to vCenter. However the ESXi hosts have been up and running perfectly.

Is is possible in the future to be able to provide credentials for VMware ESXi hosts, and should vCenter be unavailable, Veeam goes and hunts where the VM's are on each ESXi host and still backs them up. Obviousloy logging the fact its had to do this.
Senior Engineer
VMCE
Various other stuff
Personal Technical Blog - www.educationalcentre.co.uk
saintdle
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 65
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 1:13 pm
Full Name: Dean lewis

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Veeam Logoby scidoner » Sun Jul 05, 2015 1:01 pm

I'm not sure the storage APIs which Veeam uses for backup are available without vCenter.
scidoner
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 4:43 am

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Jul 05, 2015 8:42 pm

I believe this could be an option, but in this case all backup jobs will start doing full backups, because VM IDs are completely different within the vCenter Server and ESXi hosts.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Veeam Logoby saintdle » Mon Jul 06, 2015 7:56 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:I believe this could be an option, but in this case all backup jobs will start doing full backups, because VM IDs are completely different within the vCenter Server and ESXi hosts.


Personally I don't see this is as a bad trade off.

As after that backup and been notified you should look into the issue as well.

Maybe it could be an option you tick rather than on by default
Senior Engineer
VMCE
Various other stuff
Personal Technical Blog - www.educationalcentre.co.uk
saintdle
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 65
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 1:13 pm
Full Name: Dean lewis

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:01 am

There would be even two full backup cycles: first when you switch from vCenter to ESX(i), second when you switch back. So, for many of our customers that might result in repository being overfilled.

Anyway, thank you for sharing your thoughts; much appreciated.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13281
Liked: 970 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:07 am

As a workaround for now, you can copy your existing jobs (including all the settings) and then configure them to use standalone ESXi host connections. In order to do that, you need to add ESXi hosts via IP address and add VMs to the jobs you've cloned via that connection. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Veeam Logoby larry » Mon Jul 06, 2015 7:26 pm 1 person likes this post

You can add a script on failure of VC backup job start failover job, then it will only run if main job failed.
larry
Expert
 
Posts: 372
Liked: 89 times
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Mon Jul 06, 2015 9:40 pm

At least for the MorefID part of this discussion, actually ESXi IDs are maintained even when the host is connected to vCenter. Simply, vCenter IDs are used. But if both vCenter MorefID and ESXi IDs are stored somehow, I think it would be possible to "failover" to ESXi IDs if vCenter is not available.
However, I see vMotion as a possible issue as ESXi ID will be changed at any host change. This could not easily solved as, if vCenter is down, we don not have any way to track back where the VM has moved based on the vCenter ID (vCenter is down) neither the ESXi ID (changed since last time we checked maybe). Also HA could kick in, without vCenter being u and running.

I see this as a complicated solution, subject to errors in its behaviour, and with limited use cases.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5052
Liked: 1330 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Feature Request - Failover backup communication from vCe

Veeam Logoby saintdle » Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:28 am

Fair enough, it was just a suggestion, as I'd been thinking about it since coming across a vcenter down issue for two customers who then missed backups. Thats why'd I thought I'd post on the forums as I know that I'd get great feedback as above.

Thanks for looking at this request though,
Senior Engineer
VMCE
Various other stuff
Personal Technical Blog - www.educationalcentre.co.uk
saintdle
Veeam Vanguard
 
Posts: 65
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 1:13 pm
Full Name: Dean lewis


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests