Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
andrewpetre
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Nov 11, 2013 10:53 pm
Full Name: a p
Contact:

Feature Request - "Skip this one" or "Postpone"

Post by andrewpetre » Jul 24, 2014 12:12 am 1 person likes this post

It would be useful for me at times to simply skip one backup or put it off 4 hours while I do some maintenance on the Management console or the storage or the proxy. Patching days come to mind...

I don't really want to disable a job, because I don't want to have to remember to enable the job again. Some jobs I run once or occasionally and leave permanently disabled, so it's not efficient to keep track of whether it's always disabled or maybe should be enabled again. Further confusing is that with a type that has 'continuous' as the run time, there's no way to tell which time of day it came from, and it can be challenging to know what to turn on again. Different problem, but related.

Simpler would be a method for right-click one or many jobs and choose 'Skip the next run' or 'Postpone X hours' so that it will kick off again later after a reasonable maintenance interval has passed and then resume the regular schedule tomorrow unhindered.

Thoughts on this?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 7158
Liked: 736 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - "Skip this one" or "Postpone"

Post by Shestakov » Jul 24, 2014 7:42 am

Thank you for the feedback!
We will discuss an option to skip or postpone a scheduled job.
andrewpetre wrote:Further confusing is that with a type that has 'continuous' as the run time, there's no way to tell which time of day it came from, and it can be challenging to know what to turn on again. Different problem, but related.
In the creation/edit backup job wizard, in the step for a job scheduling, if you choose continuously you can click a button "Schedule.." and deny making backups in specific time periods.

Sloan
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 14, 2013 6:40 pm
Full Name: Sloan Essman
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - "Skip this one" or "Postpone"

Post by Sloan » Jul 28, 2014 3:55 am

Coming from Netbackup experience, I know there's a "suspend scheduling" and "resume scheduling" at the command line that leaves everything running so you have a full system to work on but no jobs will start up. Well, except for maybe SLP's, but those can be pasued too. But it's helpful for troubleshooting, getting tape libraries online, etc without worring about some job starting up while resources may not be available. Something similar could be useful to affect ALL of the Veeam jobs. With scheduling suspended, any running jobs will continue to completion. I know I've used it a lot say when I need to reboot a server for patching, but jobs normally run around the clock. Suspend, let everything finish, reboot, and resume.

But perhap a "suspend all until" or x-number of hours like the OP's idea for individual jobs. And just to add 1 more idea... give an option to immediately run (or not) jobs that were suspended when their start time is within the suspend window.
Sloan Essman
Energy Transfer Partners

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17148
Liked: 1485 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - "Skip this one" or "Postpone"

Post by veremin » Jul 28, 2014 8:11 am

Sloan wrote:With scheduling suspended, any running jobs will continue to completion.
You can just temporarily disable jobs. Running backup/replication jobs will not be interrupted, while the new ones won't be started. Thanks.

AJ83
Enthusiast
Posts: 60
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 06, 2009 2:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - "Skip this one" or "Postpone"

Post by AJ83 » Jul 28, 2014 8:31 am

I would like to be able to skip individual VM`s in a Job. When there is a problem/reason to not put a VM in snapshot mode (planned high IO)

Yesterday i had an issue with very large snapshot and high IO on a machine. While i was fixing it, backup started, so it started to take a new snapshot......

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17148
Liked: 1485 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - "Skip this one" or "Postpone"

Post by veremin » Jul 28, 2014 8:37 am

AJ83 wrote:I would like to be able to skip individual VM`s in a Job. When there is a problem/reason to not put a VM in snapshot mode (planned high IO)
Why not to go to "virtual machines" -> "exclusions" section and select there a VM you don't want or need to backup? Thanks.

keithlammers
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 17, 2013 7:19 pm
Full Name: Keith Lammers
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - "Skip this one" or "Postpone"

Post by keithlammers » Jul 28, 2014 1:07 pm

andrewpetre wrote:It would be useful for me at times to simply skip one backup or put it off 4 hours while I do some maintenance on the Management console or the storage or the proxy. Patching days come to mind...
I'd like to throw my vote in for this as well. At the moment I have a maintenance checklist that includes "Disable Veeam Jobs" at the start, and "Enable Veeam Jobs" at the end, so that I don't forget to turn them back on. It would definitely be easier to be able to just postpone the jobs and have them re-enabled automatically :)

Thanks!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17148
Liked: 1485 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - "Skip this one" or "Postpone"

Post by veremin » Jul 28, 2014 1:24 pm

For now you can simply script that process - create a PS code that disables all backup and replication jobs, then, waits for the specified time window, and re-enable them. Thanks.

keithlammers
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 17, 2013 7:19 pm
Full Name: Keith Lammers
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - "Skip this one" or "Postpone"

Post by keithlammers » Jul 28, 2014 1:35 pm

v.Eremin wrote:For now you can simply script that process - create a PS code that disables all backup and replication jobs, then, waits for the specified time window, and re-enable them. Thanks.
Excellent idea. I'll script something up before my next patch day, and I'll share it here when it's ready as well :)

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17148
Liked: 1485 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Feature Request - "Skip this one" or "Postpone"

Post by veremin » Jul 28, 2014 1:42 pm

Feel free to create a separate topic in the corresponding subforum in case you need any assistance with scripting. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests