Feature Request WAN Accelerator through Memory

VMware specific discussions

Feature Request WAN Accelerator through Memory

Veeam Logoby gingerdazza » Fri Nov 13, 2015 9:25 am

I was just wondering how feasible it would be for Veeam to utilise the copious amounts of cheap server memory we have for processing WAN Acceleration, rather than the current option of procuring an expensive SSD drive to optimise that process?
gingerdazza
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 99
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am
Full Name: Dazza

Re: Feature Request WAN Accelerator through Memory

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri Nov 13, 2015 10:10 am 1 person likes this post

Hi,

I believe that it's not very good choice to use RAM for WAN. Firstly, because RAM is volatile - any power outage will make your WAN cache clear. Secondly, you don't need your performance to be that high. Actually I think that SSD is a little bit of overkill. On the other hand, if you really want to check how it's going to be with RAM you might want to set up a RAM drive and test it yourself.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Feature Request WAN Accelerator through Memory

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Nov 13, 2015 10:17 am 1 person likes this post

By the way, WAN Acceleration algorithm has been seriously revised in version 8. So, usage of SSDs is not mandatory any longer. Even if you check v8 WAN Accelerator wizard, you won't see there SSD recommendations that used to be present in v7 wizard. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Feature Request WAN Accelerator through Memory

Veeam Logoby gingerdazza » Fri Nov 13, 2015 10:31 am

PTide wrote:I believe that it's not very good choice to use RAM for WAN. Firstly, because RAM is volatile - any power outage will make your WAN cache clear.

Yes, it's volatile, but if you lose that data, so what? Just rehydrate it.
But thanks for your input.
gingerdazza
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 99
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am
Full Name: Dazza

Re: Feature Request WAN Accelerator through Memory

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Nov 13, 2015 10:45 am

The digests will have to be re-calculated; Global Cache will need to be populated anew. Both operations will consume time, resulting in increased backup window needed for backup copy job to finish.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Feature Request WAN Accelerator through Memory

Veeam Logoby gingerdazza » Mon Nov 16, 2015 3:56 pm

Only on the rare occasion you lose that volatile data.
Anyway, just a thought.
gingerdazza
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 99
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am
Full Name: Dazza

Re: Feature Request WAN Accelerator through Memory

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Nov 16, 2015 11:50 pm

As it was correctly noted before, even SSD is no longer a requirement for WAN accelerator cache starting v8.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jamerson, Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests