Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
gingerdazza
Expert
Posts: 127
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am
Full Name: Dazza
Contact:

Feature Request WAN Accelerator through Memory

Post by gingerdazza » Nov 13, 2015 9:25 am

I was just wondering how feasible it would be for Veeam to utilise the copious amounts of cheap server memory we have for processing WAN Acceleration, rather than the current option of procuring an expensive SSD drive to optimise that process?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5181
Liked: 448 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Request WAN Accelerator through Memory

Post by P.Tide » Nov 13, 2015 10:10 am 1 person likes this post

Hi,

I believe that it's not very good choice to use RAM for WAN. Firstly, because RAM is volatile - any power outage will make your WAN cache clear. Secondly, you don't need your performance to be that high. Actually I think that SSD is a little bit of overkill. On the other hand, if you really want to check how it's going to be with RAM you might want to set up a RAM drive and test it yourself.

Thank you.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16691
Liked: 1393 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Feature Request WAN Accelerator through Memory

Post by veremin » Nov 13, 2015 10:17 am 1 person likes this post

By the way, WAN Acceleration algorithm has been seriously revised in version 8. So, usage of SSDs is not mandatory any longer. Even if you check v8 WAN Accelerator wizard, you won't see there SSD recommendations that used to be present in v7 wizard. Thanks.

gingerdazza
Expert
Posts: 127
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am
Full Name: Dazza
Contact:

Re: Feature Request WAN Accelerator through Memory

Post by gingerdazza » Nov 13, 2015 10:31 am

PTide wrote:I believe that it's not very good choice to use RAM for WAN. Firstly, because RAM is volatile - any power outage will make your WAN cache clear.
Yes, it's volatile, but if you lose that data, so what? Just rehydrate it.
But thanks for your input.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16691
Liked: 1393 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Feature Request WAN Accelerator through Memory

Post by veremin » Nov 13, 2015 10:45 am

The digests will have to be re-calculated; Global Cache will need to be populated anew. Both operations will consume time, resulting in increased backup window needed for backup copy job to finish.

gingerdazza
Expert
Posts: 127
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Jul 23, 2013 9:14 am
Full Name: Dazza
Contact:

Re: Feature Request WAN Accelerator through Memory

Post by gingerdazza » Nov 16, 2015 3:56 pm

Only on the rare occasion you lose that volatile data.
Anyway, just a thought.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24450
Liked: 3410 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Feature Request WAN Accelerator through Memory

Post by Gostev » Nov 16, 2015 11:50 pm

As it was correctly noted before, even SSD is no longer a requirement for WAN accelerator cache starting v8.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests