Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
larry
Expert
Posts: 387
Liked: 90 times
Joined: Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker
Contact:

FLR Single database Exchange

Post by larry » May 06, 2016 12:44 pm

Veeam V9
I have a backup of an exchange disk 0:3. This disk has one exchange database and log. When I try and do a FLR it reports bad log file. If I backup the whole server FRL of this database it works. To use FLR on exchange on a single database backup is there something else I need? When the FLR starts I can browse to the mount and see the files.

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4311
Liked: 355 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: FLR Single database Exchange

Post by PTide » May 06, 2016 1:06 pm

Have you added the database to Veeam Explorer Scope?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: FLR Single database Exchange

Post by foggy » May 06, 2016 1:45 pm

I guess Larry is talking about FLR, not Exchange items restore. I would expect issues with restore to original location in case system disk is excluded from the job, however, your case looks a bit different. Have you contacted support already?

larry
Expert
Posts: 387
Liked: 90 times
Joined: Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker
Contact:

Re: FLR Single database Exchange

Post by larry » May 06, 2016 5:21 pm

I am talking about Exchange explorer. If I backup just the exchange c: along with the the drive with the one database I want, I can use the Exchange explorer and grab a mail item. If I skip the C: I can't use the explorer. I can see the database is in the backup just cant connect to it as I get the corrupt log error.

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22992
Liked: 2888 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: FLR Single database Exchange

Post by Gostev » May 06, 2016 7:30 pm

I believe VEX heuristics of transaction log file selection requires registry access.
Are you sure you are selecting the correct log folder manually?

larry
Expert
Posts: 387
Liked: 90 times
Joined: Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker
Contact:

Re: FLR Single database Exchange

Post by larry » May 06, 2016 8:56 pm

I even copy the name from the FLR that works when I include the C: drive. I have no DBs on the c drive so this isn't a huge issue. We have one database that has a different retention requirements, I placed it on its own drive to allow Veeam to easily backup just that database. I tested restoring the whole drive to the Exchange server in the lab and the backups are good just FLR is bad. I have not had the time to really look at but next week I hope to. With FLR I never needed to restore the whole db, I grab the needed email and am done. Is the standalone FLR for exchange the same as using from the full GUI?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: FLR Single database Exchange

Post by foggy » May 10, 2016 12:42 pm

In standalone mode VEX cannot get logs location from the backup, so you need to specify it explicitly. I'd suggest to involve support.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests