Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
aaloneftis
Influencer
Liked: never

Gateway Server

Post by aaloneftis »

Hi all

I am a newbie to this software and this is my first post. I have a ESXi 6.7 host and created a Windows 2019 server on ESXi with Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5u4. On the same network as ESXi, I have a Synology DS1618+ NAS as the backup storage unit with a volume configured to host the backups. This folder is accessible from the B&R server. I am still on testing before going live and created a few jobs. These jobs sometimes fail and sometimes work. When they fail the message is like the below.

Error: An unexpected network error occurred. Failed to read data from the file [\\RMFS\VMBACKUPS\RM\RMD2020-04-16T200032_D271.vbk]. Failed to restore file from local backup. VFS link: [summary.xml]. Target file: [MemFs://frontend::CDataTransferCommandSet::RestoreText_{33acca47-8e3b-43c5-bdae-7f48f8310828}]. CHMOD mask: [-1]. Agent failed to process method {DataTransfer.RestoreText}.

I don't understand what the error is saying and I can't explain why a job sometimes works and the next day it fails without any change anywhere. However, I contacted support and they pointed me to the need of a gateway server. Indeed I didn't know that and the documentation is clear of such a requirement. So I seek your assistance in setting one up. I couldn't find what am I supposed to install on this Gateway server. Since I just installed another VM hosting Veeam ONE on the ESXi host, I was also wondering whether that server can play the role of the Gateway Server.

Many thanks to all.

Alexis
oleg.feoktistov
Veeam Software
Liked: 635 times
Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov

Re: Gateway Server

Post by oleg.feoktistov »

Hi Alexis and Welcome to the Community Forums!