Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
fquinnAPT
Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 28, 2015 5:22 pm
Full Name: Fintan Quinn
Contact:

Growing VMDK

Post by fquinnAPT » Feb 10, 2015 8:24 am

Hi All

If I have to grow the VMDK to add more space to partitions ...will this cause an issue with replica jobs?

If we are replicating over slow link and we change the source VMDK will this cause an issue with a VM in a replica job? i.e. will it have to be re seeded?

Thanks

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16906
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Growing VMDK

Post by veremin » Feb 10, 2015 9:59 am

In this case, during the next run replica snapshots (restore points) will be merged in order to reflect disk changes. Thanks.

fquinnAPT
Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 28, 2015 5:22 pm
Full Name: Fintan Quinn
Contact:

Re: Growing VMDK

Post by fquinnAPT » Feb 10, 2015 10:14 am

Hi

I believe I change the VMDK size before and I had issues with the replication job..... it removed the snapshots and the job failed

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16906
Liked: 1440 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Growing VMDK

Post by veremin » Feb 10, 2015 10:51 am

As I've said, such situations should be handled by VB&R in automatic fashion. If that's not the case, feel free to reach our support team. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Vitaliy Kazakov and 21 guests