Has anyone ever used Veeam for backups, combined with Zerto?

VMware specific discussions

Has anyone ever used Veeam for backups, combined with Zerto?

Veeam Logoby v33@m3r » Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:44 pm

Hi There,

I was wondering if anyone has ever heard of a situation whereby Veeam is being used for backups, and Zerto used for replication alongside this.
I know of an existing Veeam customer, who want to use Zerto for replication, and I'm wondering if anyone knows of anyone who has this working, or if there are any obvious reasons why there may be problems.

Thanks in advance
v33@m3r
Influencer
 
Posts: 23
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:42 pm
Full Name: Mr Veeam McVeeamerson

Re: Has anyone ever used Veeam for backups, combined with Ze

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Jun 15, 2015 2:36 pm

Hi,
Yes, there are a number of Zerto users. Easiest way to reach them is to use the search tool.
For instance, this customer is using Zerto to replicate VBR server.
Could you specify your customer`s needs? Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5017
Liked: 417 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Has anyone ever used Veeam for backups, combined with Ze

Veeam Logoby johnlong » Tue Jun 16, 2015 3:33 am 1 person likes this post

I use both with no problems. The minute Veeam implements the type of replication Zerto uses I will drop Zerto.

They complement each other imo. Not having to deal with replication snapshots with Veeam is why I chose Zerto. You can't beat Veeam for historical vm backups.

I wish Veeam would acquire Zerto, lol 8)

Just be aware of which product is used to quiesce databases.
johnlong
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 72
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 3:37 pm

Re: Has anyone ever used Veeam for backups, combined with Ze

Veeam Logoby Encode7 » Thu Jul 16, 2015 6:00 pm

Used both in parallel for several years with no conflicting issues, there is enough product differentiation between them to deliver sufficient value from having both.
@iannoble
Encode7
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:19 am
Full Name: Ian Noble

Re: Has anyone ever used Veeam for backups, combined with Ze

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Jul 16, 2015 6:20 pm

johnlong wrote:I wish Veeam would acquire Zerto, lol 8)

That is not happening for sure: we don't acquire anything, we always build in-house to ensure quality and supportability.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21504
Liked: 2380 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Has anyone ever used Veeam for backups, combined with Ze

Veeam Logoby abraun » Wed Jul 29, 2015 1:43 pm

We are using Veeam for backups and Zerto for replication with no issues at all. Zerto's replication is a little more robust IMO than Veeam's IMO.
abraun
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 7:35 pm
Full Name: Andy Braun

Re: Has anyone ever used Veeam for backups, combined with Ze

Veeam Logoby GiacomoG » Wed Jul 29, 2015 3:29 pm

Yes, I use both and I have to say they have some differences that makes them valuable for different kind of customers but...Zerto DR is far more attractive than Veeam backups...really this is a feature that shifted me a lot on Zerto.
GiacomoG
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 3:27 pm
Full Name: Giacomo G

Re: Has anyone ever used Veeam for backups, combined with Ze

Veeam Logoby michelsch » Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:30 am

VEEAM and Zerto is a good to combine. Zerto is perfect for replication with a low RPO. VEEAM's RPO is little longer.
michelsch
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:27 am
Full Name: Michel Scheepers

Re: Has anyone ever used Veeam for backups, combined with Ze

Veeam Logoby johnlong » Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:57 pm

Gostev wrote:
johnlong wrote:I wish Veeam would acquire Zerto, lol 8)

That is not happening for sure: we don't acquire anything, we always build in-house to ensure quality and supportability.


This could be a game changer.
VMware vSphere API for IO Filtering (VAIO) allows third party software developers to add data services to ESXi and vSphere. - See more at: http://www.vmware.com/products/vsphere/ ... torage-api

Could this be used to implement real-time replication within Veeam? If I remember correctly one of the arguments of why Veeam doesn't do what Zerto is doing is because the way Zerto splits the IO isn't "officially" supported by VMware.

When do the beta tests start? I'm in when they do! :mrgreen:
johnlong
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 72
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 3:37 pm

Re: Has anyone ever used Veeam for backups, combined with Ze

Veeam Logoby Balbo » Tue Sep 01, 2015 4:09 pm

Hi to all

Has anyone used Veeam B&R to backup of the replicas made with Zerto? Not the original VM but its replica...does it function?
Balbo
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:35 am
Full Name: Riccardo Balboni

Re: Has anyone ever used Veeam for backups, combined with Ze

Veeam Logoby PTide » Tue Sep 01, 2015 4:49 pm

Hi,

Has anyone used Veeam B&R to backup of the replicas made with Zerto?
Since your Zerto-replica is just another VM being hosted on ESXi host and can be snapshotted I don't see reasons why it should not work. The only drawback that comes to my mind is that CBT feature will not work with backup from replica. Please see this thread for details.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3134
Liked: 262 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Has anyone ever used Veeam for backups, combined with Ze

Veeam Logoby johnlong » Mon Jun 26, 2017 4:06 am 2 people like this post

johnlong wrote:This could be a game changer.
VMware vSphere API for IO Filtering (VAIO) allows third party software developers to add data services to ESXi and vSphere. - See more at: http://www.vmware.com/products/vsphere/ ... torage-api

Could this be used to implement real-time replication within Veeam? If I remember correctly one of the arguments of why Veeam doesn't do what Zerto is doing is because the way Zerto splits the IO isn't "officially" supported by VMware.

When do the beta tests start? I'm in when they do! :mrgreen:


I don't normally quote one of my own posts but I was searching the internet for info on Veeam and VAIO and came across this. Do I win an award for being one of, if not, the first to predict a new Veeam feature? lol. I can't wait to try this out!

And I'd still like to know when the beta for V10 starts!
johnlong
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 72
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 3:37 pm

Re: Has anyone ever used Veeam for backups, combined with Ze

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:36 pm 1 person likes this post

Great vision and valuable feature request back in 2015 :)
Indeed Veeam CDP (Continuous Data Protection) based on VMware’s VAIO framework is one of v10 features. No ETA of Beta or RTM to be announced though, please stay tuned!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5017
Liked: 417 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests