Help on SureReplica Virtual Lab Config

VMware specific discussions

Help on SureReplica Virtual Lab Config

Veeam Logoby RPTan » Thu Aug 18, 2016 1:11 am

Hi!

I've configured Surebackup already for a client doing backup on the Prod site and now need to configure SureReplica on the DR site.
However, SureReplica jobs are failing on the Ping tests which leads me to conclude that there is something wrong in my Virtual Lab config.

Prod Network is on 192.168.232.x
Gateway is 192.168.232.126

Production VM network is labelled VM Network

DR Network is on 192.168.205.x
Gateway is 192.168.205.243

DR Production VM network is labelled VM Network
Additionally, there is a network labelled Isolated Network used for testing

On replication, we do network mapping to change the replicated VMs to use the Isolated Network.

For DR Virtual Lab, I used advanced single-host and the ff. options:
Network Mapping: Isolated Network --> DR Virtual Lab Network
Appliance IP on Production Network: 192.168.205.236

Network Options:
NIC Adapter for Isolated Network
Appliance IP: 192.168.232.126

SureReplica is able to fire up the Virtual Lab, bring up the Replicas and detect Heartbeat.
However, it's not able to ping these VMs.

Firewall is disabled on servers.

Hoping for assistance.
RPTan
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 2:07 am
Full Name: Ryan Tan

Re: Help on SureReplica Virtual Lab Config

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Aug 18, 2016 1:51 pm

Hello Ryan, where's the Veeam B&R server is located, in production or DR site?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Help on SureReplica Virtual Lab Config

Veeam Logoby RPTan » Fri Aug 19, 2016 8:47 am

Hi foggy,

The b&r server is located on the prod network.

Some additional info:
- I can ping the dr virtual lab appliance from the veeam server.
- I can see the replica being fired up and the network being re-assigned to the dr virtual lab network.
- Going into the replica's vm console, I can ping the dr virtual lab (which is using the gateway ip)
- vm Hearbeat test is a success.

Thanks,
Ryan
RPTan
Influencer
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 2:07 am
Full Name: Ryan Tan

Re: Help on SureReplica Virtual Lab Config

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Sep 01, 2016 3:15 pm

RPTan wrote:The b&r server is located on the prod network.

So not in the same subnet with the appliance. In this case you need to configure routing to enable access to virtual machines in isolated network.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests