Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
lrhazi
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2017 8:15 pm
Full Name: Mohamed Lrhazi
Contact:

How do you force a surebackup job to forget VMs

Post by lrhazi »

Hello,

How do you force a surebackup job to stop restoring VMs that are no longer in the linked backup jobs?

Support said we cannot for as long as the backups themselves exists?????


Case # 05272007

Thanks!
Mohamed.

PetrM
Veeam Software
Posts: 2442
Liked: 393 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2013 8:23 am
Full Name: Petr Makarov
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How do you force a surebackup job to forget VMs

Post by PetrM »

Hi Mohamed,

The conclusion of our support engineer is correct because SureBackup does not validate the job but validates the backup produced by this job and checks all VMs from this backup. Once a VM which is no longer processed by the job is deleted by retention, it will not be tested by SureBackup.

Thanks!

lrhazi
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2017 8:15 pm
Full Name: Mohamed Lrhazi
Contact:

Re: How do you force a surebackup job to forget VMs

Post by lrhazi »

In our case all backus are retained for years!!!! aren't everybody's? so for years to come we will be testing these VMs?
what's worse is that these are only found in our object store... so everyday we are restoring from S3.... We can't afford that.....

Is this really by design? What options do we have? create new backup jobs from scratch?

Thanks,
Mohamed.

lrhazi
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2017 8:15 pm
Full Name: Mohamed Lrhazi
Contact:

Re: How do you force a surebackup job to forget VMs

Post by lrhazi »

Could you clarify what this means:
> Once a VM which is no longer processed by the job is deleted by retention
Our retention includes GFS, to keep weeklies/monthlies/yearlies.

Mildur
Veeam Software
Posts: 4388
Liked: 1350 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: St. Gallen, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How do you force a surebackup job to forget VMs

Post by Mildur » 1 person likes this post

Hi Mohamed

There is a feature request ongoing with other customers facing the same situation.

In my case, in one of my environments, I have a monthly GFS Backup created on august 7th, which is tested each week. That is the last backup available of this vm. And in another environment a Exchange Server from first saturday in october (GFS monthly).

I would not create new backup jobs for the moment. This will create active fulls for all vms. Depending on how big your environment is, you would need to much storage.
Hopefully there will be some optimizations around this situation in one of the next veeam versions.
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software

PetrM
Veeam Software
Posts: 2442
Liked: 393 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2013 8:23 am
Full Name: Petr Makarov
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How do you force a surebackup job to forget VMs

Post by PetrM »

I should have mentioned that I was talking about retention for deleted VMs and not about retention policy that controls the number of restore points. Also, SureBackup checks the most recent restore point of the regular backup chain by default so I don't think that it would mount some VMs from GFS backups.

Thanks!

lrhazi
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2017 8:15 pm
Full Name: Mohamed Lrhazi
Contact:

Re: How do you force a surebackup job to forget VMs

Post by lrhazi »

Hi Peter. At least this one VM I was checking on this morning, is definitely a deleted VM. It has been deleted for a while. the sureback job is still restoring it, even though the last restore point available is some three months old, and no longer in our on-prem repo, but only in the S3 layer.

lrhazi
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2017 8:15 pm
Full Name: Mohamed Lrhazi
Contact:

Re: How do you force a surebackup job to forget VMs

Post by lrhazi »

Oh, Peter, are you saying we just need to check the box "Remove deleted items data after option" ?

lrhazi
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2017 8:15 pm
Full Name: Mohamed Lrhazi
Contact:

Re: How do you force a surebackup job to forget VMs

Post by lrhazi »

Thanks for the info Mildur!

PetrM
Veeam Software
Posts: 2442
Liked: 393 times
Joined: Aug 28, 2013 8:23 am
Full Name: Petr Makarov
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How do you force a surebackup job to forget VMs

Post by PetrM »

Hello,
Irhazi wrote:we just need to check the box "Remove deleted items data after option" ?
Yes.

Thanks!

lrhazi
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 03, 2017 8:15 pm
Full Name: Mohamed Lrhazi
Contact:

Re: How do you force a surebackup job to forget VMs

Post by lrhazi »

So I turned that option on, "Remove deleted items data" after "14 days".. but this old VM is still not removed!

In the backup job I see many lines like so:
3/11/2022 6:30:20 PM :: VMs skipped. Unable to delete the selected instance from backup: some of the restored points are immutable.

It does not tell me which VMs it is talking about.... The immutability is set to 30 days, but this one VM am focusing on was last backed up more than 3 months ago!

Why is it still not able to delete this VM from the backup job?

Mildur
Veeam Software
Posts: 4388
Liked: 1350 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: St. Gallen, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How do you force a surebackup job to forget VMs

Post by Mildur »

but this one VM am focusing on was last backed up more than 3 months ago!
GFS restore points are immutable there entire lifetime. They cannot be deleted until the retention is over.

Only exemption, if you have a SOBR with Move Policy to the capacity tier enabled. Then they would use the configured retention from the repository, or they couldn‘t be moved to the capacity tier.

So I turned that option on, "Remove deleted items data" after "14 days".. but this old VM is still not removed!
Removing after 14 days will not work, because the files are immutable for 30 days. Please set the removing deleted items value to 35 days. The warning shouldn‘t be shown anymore.
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests