How do you protect a dev/sandbox?

VMware specific discussions

How do you protect a dev/sandbox?

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Thu Apr 27, 2017 2:11 pm

We're looking to revamp how we manage our dev environments (currently a clone of production VMs that gets refreshed/replaced once in a blue moon, i.e. rarely) so I'm looking into options revolving around Veeam & replicas.

Creating the replicas is easy, spinning them up is easy, making them available to end users is slightly more complicated (DNS aliases etc.) but very doable. What I'm not sure of is the options to protect those DEV VMs against, say, a storage failure halfway through a development cycle. Let's assume for now that a dev cycle is 2 months, after which we'd refresh/replace the replicas from live ready to start the next cycle with latest state.

So, can you do actually Veeam backups of replica VMs?

In our case they'd be a separate job with a different SLA, probably not copied off-site/to tape etc. but I'm sure I remember reading something a long while ago about backing up replicas having issues?

So, how do you manage/protect/refresh your dev environment?
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 500
Liked: 54 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly

Re: How do you protect a dev/sandbox?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:41 pm

Hi Paul, when backing up replica VMs, CBT is not available. No limitations other than that.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: How do you protect a dev/sandbox?

Veeam Logoby pkelly_sts » Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:43 pm

Ah excellent, I can live without CBT for such an environment!

I shall have a play next week, thanks! :)
[New Sig: PLEASE get GFS tape support for incrementals!!!]
pkelly_sts
Expert
 
Posts: 500
Liked: 54 times
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: btmaus and 13 guests