Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
pkelly_sts
Expert
Posts: 588
Liked: 65 times
Joined: Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly
Contact:

How does v7 backup copy deal with synth fulls?

Post by pkelly_sts »

Just a pre-emptive query (we're not upgrading to v7 immediately - will let the dust settle a bit for a week or two first) but I was wondering how the copy jobs handle remote synthetic fulls. Does it copy the (deduped/acellerated) version of the .vib and then initiate a synthetic full at the remote end the same was as a 2nd traditional backup would anyway?

Paul

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19285
Liked: 1741 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: How does v7 backup copy deal with synth fulls?

Post by foggy »

Paul, backup copy job does not copy VIB or any other files to the target repository, instead it only copies required data blocks from the most recent restore point (incremental changes) and transfers them to the target backup repository. Then these blocks are written to the incremental backup file. I recommend reviewing the corresponding user guide section as the whole process is described there in pretty good detail. Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24075
Liked: 1807 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: How does v7 backup copy deal with synth fulls?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Data blocks are actually your VMs stored in the backup files.

pkelly_sts
Expert
Posts: 588
Liked: 65 times
Joined: Jun 13, 2013 10:08 am
Full Name: Paul Kelly
Contact:

Re: How does v7 backup copy deal with synth fulls?

Post by pkelly_sts »

ah, thanks guys, understood...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gmajestix, Google [Bot], Gostev, PariPari and 37 guests