Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
vkky2k
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: rogerpei

How much local storage do I have to have?

Post by vkky2k »

I am new to veeam.

Let’s say that there are total of 200Tb backup data for the entire organization, and we want to keep 35 days retention. To reduce footprint in DataCenter, we want to use AWS S3 as the target to store backup data as much as possible, and use local storage as little as possible.

What is architecture for this purpose?
How much local storage do I have to have?
Do I have to have 200Tb local storage to store the first set or first day of full backup and only then the rest of retention or incremental backups could be stored onto S3?

If experts here can share your thoughts?

Thank you in advance!
jamcool
Enthusiast
Liked: 11 times
Full Name: Jason Mount

Re: How much local storage do I have to have?

Post by jamcool »

lots of tough questions. I can only share what we have in our setup. Also with S3 storage, you cannot do synthetic full backups which is something we have to have as if we had to do full backups, it would take 3-4 days.

One of our repositories is 338 TB volume. We have several jobs (primary VMWARE and few Windows agents) writing to it with both of Veeam's built in compression and deduplication. The largest job (VMWARE) is showing 285 TB for size. The other jobs are pretty small maybe totaling 30 TB for size. Our jobs are set to keep 14 backups with synthetic full backups on Saturday and daily incremental backups. The "used" backup data is 308 TB but we have 141 TB of free space in the repository. Our backups tend to get between 2-3 compression. This is primary Window servers with some Linux servers but no Exchange or SQL backups.
vkky2k
Influencer

Post by vkky2k »

Correction:
200TB is the amount of data need to be backed up for the organization.
Mildur
Product Manager
Liked: 2296 times
Full Name: Fabian K.

Post by Mildur »

You can use the restore point calculator to get an answer.