Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
neilpotter
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 28, 2013 9:09 am
Full Name: Neil Potter
Contact:

How much space needed for snapshot

Post by neilpotter » Feb 20, 2015 2:08 pm

We have a SAN with 4 x Datastores. One of these data stores hold 3 x 2TB VMDK's that have been joined in windows to form a single 6TB Data volume.
If i wanted to back this up with Veeam, will I need an additional 6TB space on the datastore to create the snapshots, or does it not work that way?

Thanks

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16884
Liked: 1433 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: How much space needed for snapshot

Post by veremin » Feb 20, 2015 3:36 pm

It depends of type of VMs you have in your environment. More specifically, the amount of changes they produce regularly. According to the best practices, it’s strongly recommended to have 10% free of datastore in case of general VM, and, at least, 20% in case of VM with high change rate (SQL, Exchange, etc).

Thanks.

neilpotter
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 28, 2013 9:09 am
Full Name: Neil Potter
Contact:

Re: How much space needed for snapshot

Post by neilpotter » Feb 20, 2015 3:38 pm

Thanks.

So as a check, if I increase to say 10% space as it's only a file server, is there any danger if the snapshot were to fill the datastore, or would I be right in thinking it would throw up an error that it couldn't create the snapshot, then remove it?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16884
Liked: 1433 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: How much space needed for snapshot

Post by veremin » Feb 20, 2015 3:42 pm

The job would throw an error, the snapshot would be merged.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22984
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: How much space needed for snapshot

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 20, 2015 4:00 pm

Also If you want to monitor VM snapshots and get notifications about orphaned snapshots, you can use Veeam ONE (part of Availability Suite).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: edxh, ers_kentwick, kelaros and 38 guests