how to seed replicatoin and then remove backup used for seed

VMware specific discussions

how to seed replicatoin and then remove backup used for seed

Veeam Logoby pglamb » Mon Jun 29, 2015 4:13 pm

Good morning.

I've read the manuals, tried to start a topic, was referred to an exiting topic thread that had nothing to do with my question, and am still not able to get my DR site setup. I'm hoping this thread will be approved by the admin so that I might be able to get things going.

here's what I would like to do:
1. copy last night's backup to an external drive.
2. take the drive to the DR location, copy the backup files to a Veeam B&R repository, rescan the repository.
3. create a replication job at my source site using the backup in the DR Veeam server as the seed.
4. once the replication job has finished, reconfigure the job without the seed.

That's the problem, once I reconfigure the job without the seed, it fails.

I'm sure this has been run into before, please help!

Thanks for taking the time to read and help.

Pat
pglamb
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 4:38 pm
Full Name: Pat Lamb

Re: how to seed replicatoin and then remove backup used for

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jun 29, 2015 4:23 pm

Hi Pat,

The seeding process you're doing looks good to me. Can you please tell us what exactly happens to the job? What is the error message? Do you have a support case opened on this already?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19570
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: how to seed replicatoin and then remove backup used for

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Jun 29, 2015 4:24 pm

Pat, may I also ask you what settings do you change during job reconfiguration?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14752
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests