How to use Veeam vPower NFS server?

VMware specific discussions

[MERGED] Is it possible to use vPowerNFS for ISO?

Veeam Logoby smarechal » Tue Jan 05, 2016 10:42 am

Hello,

On my new veeam backup server, i had Windows NFS Server installed to publish my ISOS on ESXi.
After veeam installation, it dosen't work anymore, maybe ports conflicts?
I tried to mount vPowerNFS share like this : http://www.danilochiavari.com/2014/07/1 ... nfs-share/
It doens't work.
Is it supported in V8?

Thanks a lot.
smarechal
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried

Re: How to use Veeam vPower NFS server?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jan 05, 2016 10:48 am

Should work, please review this thread for some hints and contact technical support for further assistance. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: How to use Veeam vPower NFS server?

Veeam Logoby smarechal » Wed Jan 06, 2016 10:55 am

Hello Foggy,

I've reviewed all this post, but it doesn't work.

Here is the log on the veeam backup server:
Code: Select all
[06.01.2016 11:52:27] < 12520> nfs| Client [10.1.10.141] connected.
[06.01.2016 11:52:27] < 12520> nfs| Return port number: [1058].
[06.01.2016 11:52:27] < 12520> nfs| ERR |Client thread error.
[06.01.2016 11:52:27] < 12520> nfs| >>  |Une connexion existante a dre fermpar lӨdistant. Error code: 10054
[06.01.2016 11:52:27] < 12520> nfs| >>  |recv error.
[06.01.2016 11:52:27] < 12520> nfs| >>  |An exception was thrown from thread [12520].
[06.01.2016 11:52:27] < 14044> nfs| Client [10.1.10.141] connected.
[06.01.2016 11:52:27] < 14044> nfs| ERR |Client thread error.
[06.01.2016 11:52:27] < 14044> nfs| >>  |Une connexion existante a dre fermpar lӨdistant. Error code: 10054
[06.01.2016 11:52:27] < 14044> nfs| >>  |recv error.
[06.01.2016 11:52:27] < 14044> nfs| >>  |An exception was thrown from thread [14044].
smarechal
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried

Re: How to use Veeam vPower NFS server?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Jan 06, 2016 11:14 am

You don't need to install Windows NFS server at the backup server (there will indeed be port conflicts). Why not to use Veeam NFS server to share the ISOs?
Gostev wrote:if you are looking to share some files (such as ISO images) on Veeam Backup server via NFS, then you can simply put the files into vPower NFS root folder (the one you specified during setup)
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: How to use Veeam vPower NFS server?

Veeam Logoby smarechal » Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:12 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:You don't need to install Windows NFS server at the backup server (there will indeed be port conflicts). Why not to use Veeam NFS server to share the ISOs?


Windows NFS Server is not installed. (It was, but i uninstalled it before installing VBR).
This logs are veeam's.
smarechal
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 56
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:23 pm
Full Name: Siegfried

Re: How to use Veeam vPower NFS server?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:16 pm

Ok! In this case let our support team take a look at your setup.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: How to use Veeam vPower NFS server?

Veeam Logoby masonit » Thu Jan 21, 2016 4:01 pm

Hi

I have a odd problem mounting nfs storage from any esxi host that has never mounted NFS to the VBR server before. Because of our network design we have to manually mount the nfs storage. (I have tried solving this in 01289565 without any luck)
But when I try to manually mount the NFS I always get an error:

NFS mount xxx.xx.xxx.xx:/VeeamBackup_xxxx failed: The mount request was denied by the NFS server. Check that the export exists and that the client is permitted to mount it.
An unknown error has occurred.

The workaround for this is to let VBR try to mount the NFS storage. This will fail because of our network design. But after it has failed I am able to manually mount the NFS storage. It seems like when VBR server tries to mount. Somewhere VBR gives the esxi host permission to mount the NFS. Where is this done?

\Masonit
masonit
Service Provider
 
Posts: 141
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus Andersson

Re: How to use Veeam vPower NFS server?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Jan 21, 2016 5:30 pm

Hi Magnus,

The only requirement I'm aware of is that ESXi must have a vmKernel on a network Veeam Backup server is using, but I can double check with the devs.

BTW, what did our technical engineer suggested to check? I see that your ticket is going to be auto-closed soon due to no response from your side.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: How to use Veeam vPower NFS server?

Veeam Logoby masonit » Fri Jan 22, 2016 9:10 am

Target ip of the Veeam NFS server is on the same subnet as ESXi vmkernel.

Veeam support wanted me to trick the vbr server by editing the hosts file. But this is not something I want to do.

Also our way of mounting NFS worked fine in VBR 7. But does not work anymore in VBR 8. I asked Veeam suppport:

"Are you able to find if the logic has changed? As I said before our approach worked in vbr 7.."

Veeam support:
Frankly speaking - no, as I'm not QA or developer engineer, but I believe if you add those details to hosts file and to DC, it should work as expected.
By the way, today VeeamBR v9 is officially being released, so I think it is a good point to consider to upgrade in the nearest future.

Yes the ticket is going to be auto-closed soon due to no response from your side. But I can't say I got the answer I need.

\Masonit
masonit
Service Provider
 
Posts: 141
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus Andersson

Re: How to use Veeam vPower NFS server?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jan 22, 2016 12:13 pm 2 people like this post

Magnus, I have informed our support manager about your case. Also we have just reproduced your situation with our dev and QA teams.

The problem has nothing to do with the permissions. When you initiate a mount of the NFS datastore from the backup console, NFS server creates an export list. If you don't do this, this list is empty and ESXi host fails with the error message above when trying to mount our NFS datastore.

In order to resolve this, you should create this reg key on the backup server:
Code: Select all
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Veeam\Veeam NFS\Shared Folders\{488f4631-1c52-4066-80be-1632b77d4afb} (This UID key can be random)

"nfsFolderName"="/VeeamBackup_FQDN OF YOUR BACKUP SERVER" (STRING TYPE)

This will export all required data for ESXi host to mount your NFS datastore.

P.S. finally, we will investigate why this change was made in the later version of Veeam B&R and based on the results either include this key be default or not.

Hope this helps!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: How to use Veeam vPower NFS server?

Veeam Logoby masonit » Fri Jan 22, 2016 2:23 pm

It sure helps. Thank you for great support! :)

\Masonit
masonit
Service Provider
 
Posts: 141
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus Andersson

Previous

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dschano, Google [Bot] and 30 guests