Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
phild
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mar 06, 2015 2:55 pm
Full Name: phil durkin
Contact:

Importing old VDP backups

Post by phild »

hi all,

Veeam newbie question number 1..

we have a vmware 5.5 environment, and are using the free builtin version of vmwares backup and replication engines.
We also had a trial license of vmware data protection advanced, which expired last week which was backing up Exchange.

We have now decided to move to Veeam for the backups and plan on purchasing the Backup Essentials suite.

Questions are;
1, can i import the previous backups that were created by VDP and VDPA into Veeam?
2, use the currently replicated VMs that exist off site with Veeam as seed machines so i dont have push over 1TB over the wan?

regards

phil

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 25349
Liked: 2235 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Importing old VDP backups

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Phil,

1. No, since VDP stores backups in their own proprietary file format.
2. Yes, you can. Just use replica mapping feature to start transferring incremental changes.

Thanks!

phild
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mar 06, 2015 2:55 pm
Full Name: phil durkin
Contact:

Re: Importing old VDP backups

Post by phild »

Thanks Vitaliy for the quick response.

regards

phil

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests