Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

VMware specific discussions

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jun 28, 2013 8:07 am

Additionally, and if you’re planning to utilize this VB&R instance also as a default proxy server, kindly keep the following proxy resource considerations in mind:

Ram : 2GB + 2GB*Concurrent Job
(v)CPU : 2*Concurrent Job


Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby silviom » Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:25 pm

Hi guys, thanks for the replies.

The vCenter machine will contain SQL + Veeam backup & repl console and a proxy for one local datacenter (there will be dedicated backup proxies for the other datacenters because they are geographically separated)

Usually we'll have only one concurrent job for each backup proxy at a time.

Currently vCenter has 2 vcpus and 2GB RAM; I guess that 4 vcpus and 8-10 GB RAM will be enough for that scenario, right? (4GB Veeam console & SQL + 2GB backup proxy + 2-4GB vCenter)

Regards,
Silvio
silviom
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 2:22 pm
Full Name: Silvio

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:45 pm

Assuming that, you’ll run only on job per time, you should be ok with the aforesaid deployment. To be on the safe side, though, it might be wort adding few GB of RAM to this server. Also, I recommend you to set 1 as a maximum number of concurrent task default proxy can handle, it guarantees that your server wouldn't be overloaded with backup tasks.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby yizhar » Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:20 pm

Hi.

I would go with more RAM.
For VCenter - recommended 8gb so that you can also install vsphere web client (unless you plan to install it on other host).
Add some more RAM for Veeam, so I suggest that you have 16gb (or atleast 12gb) on the shared VC+Veeam host.

Yizhar
yizhar
Expert
 
Posts: 179
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:28 am
Full Name: Yizhar Hurwitz

[MERGED] Very small Environment

Veeam Logoby vdesktopguy » Wed Jul 24, 2013 1:51 pm

Hey folks,

I am doing a very small installation, one server on the primary site (physical) and the DR side is one ESXi host with a win2k8 R2 vCenter server. Can the vCenter also serve as the proxy and repository? The user doesn't want to purchase another windows license.

The replication will be about 15 VM's and less than 1TB of total data with a average to low change rate.

Thanks,

vdesktopguy
vdesktopguy
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 1:47 pm

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Jul 24, 2013 2:29 pm

Considering the backup load you're going to have, I would say that it's ok to have the target side proxy role assigned to vCenter VM. Regarding repository, it is recommended to have the repository at the source side to be responsible for storing replica metadata. Otherwise this could seriously affect replication performance.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby tuscani » Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:45 pm

Just to add.. we have several small clients that run vCenter and VEEAM on the same server.. never had an issue doing so.
tuscani
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:00 pm
Full Name: Justin Durrant

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby stevenfoo » Mon Mar 17, 2014 1:12 am

Opinion needed.

We have an existing veeam backup 6.x located on old physical server windows 2003. Our vcenter appliance in located at another old physical server. We backup our VMs via our backup LAN.

We would like to purchase a new server and install veeam backup 7.x and also vcenter into windows 2008 R2 SP1 64 bit.
It's like consolidate both of them into 1 server.

1) We understand that both will be using sql express windows 2008 SP2 database by default? Can they shared? Any issue if they do? We only have 4 physical (max 2 CPU 4-6core each) VMware host with around 20 VMs to backup and manage.

2) We 10GB size and 1 CPU limit for the sql express version is that sufficient to perform?

3) Is it a good idea to install veeam into VM?
Understand that certain functionality required on veeam require physical server to work? eg. single file restore.
stevenfoo
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 3:11 am
Full Name: Steven Foo

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Mar 17, 2014 9:05 am

With such a small virtual infrastructure, you can, probably, stick to SQL Server Express and all-in-one deployment. You can see this topic for more information regarding SQL Express limitations and VB&R server recommendations.

Understand that certain functionality required on veeam require physical server to work?

Currently, we only require physical VB&R server for tape device support. However, even this limitation can be bypassed with certain workarounds. All other functionality works flawlessly with both physical and virtual backup management servers.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Mar 17, 2014 9:22 am

stevenfoo wrote:1) We understand that both will be using sql express windows 2008 SP2 database by default? Can they shared? Any issue if they do? We only have 4 physical (max 2 CPU 4-6core each) VMware host with around 20 VMs to backup and manage.

You can share the same SQL Server instance, but not the database.
stevenfoo wrote:2) We 10GB size and 1 CPU limit for the sql express version is that sufficient to perform?

I would suggest sticking to SQL Server recommended system configuration, should be sufficient.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby stevenfoo » Tue Mar 18, 2014 12:33 am

All,

What is the preferred case?

Option 1)
Installed Veeam and vcenter on top of windows 2008 R2 SP1 on vmware ESXi as VM

Option 2)
Installed veeam on top of windows 2008 R2 SP1 on vmware ESXi as VM and vcenter as virtual appliance on separate M

Option 3)
Install both on a physically windows 2008 R2 SP1 machine.
stevenfoo
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 3:11 am
Full Name: Steven Foo

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Mar 18, 2014 9:21 am

Hi Steven,

I would say number two is preferable. It is always not a good idea to mix all important infrastructure services on the same server. And I wouldn't go with physical vCenter Server either, as in this case you will have to use other backup solution to protect it.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:16 am

I would go with option 2 too. Since the vcenter appliance does not consumes any windows license, there is no real problem in using it, it has some limitations like the lack of Update Manager, but this role can then be installed on the Windows VM holding Veeam.
With two separated VMs, you can do maintenance operations (upgrades, patches, reboots...) to both without impacting the other one.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5047
Liked: 1330 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby BriFar » Tue Mar 18, 2014 2:49 pm

If a physical machine is available, as per Option 3, would you consider an Option 4?
Veeam on a physical server and vcenter as a virtual appliance?

This might be a better fit should you wish to backup to tape? You will also have your backup resources separate from your production, unless you will be using the same storage.
BriFar
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 12:55 pm
Location: Malta, Europe
Full Name: Brian Farrugia

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby stevenfoo » Wed Mar 19, 2014 2:20 am

All,

Thank you for all your reply.

Depends on our budget:

Option 2) install veeam as VM and use vcenter appliance as VM in a ESXi environment
Option 4) install veeam as physical server and remain our existing vcenter virtual appliance as VM in the ESXi environment

In that case, it seems option 2 to consolidate both physical servers into one as install both on VM will a good idea case.

Any disadvantages running Veeam on VM? Does it able to restore single file or perform all the task as on a physical machine?
stevenfoo
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 3:11 am
Full Name: Steven Foo

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 27 guests