Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

VMware specific discussions

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Mar 19, 2014 6:16 am

There is no difference between running Veeam B&R server on the physical or the virtual server, you will get the same functionality on both platforms. However, If you need to offload your backups to tapes, then Brian's suggestion would a way to go.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby stevenfoo » Wed Mar 19, 2014 7:23 am

Thank you all for your valuable inputs.

If we have the extra license for ESXi, we will consolidate both into one physical as per option 2) else we will stick with option 4).

Tentative we will go with option 2 at the moment.
stevenfoo
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 96
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 3:11 am
Full Name: Steven Foo

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby groussat » Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:47 pm

Hi there :)

Is that deployement scenario (VBR 8 on a physical serveur (2012 R2) with vCenter Server 5.5) a good idea ?

Still no issues ?

Thanks
groussat
Service Provider
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:36 pm
Full Name: Gregory ROUSSAT

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Apr 27, 2015 2:13 pm

Considerations are still the same, keep in mind the load you're going to assign to the default proxy (installed as a part of Veeam B&R installation).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby groussat » Mon Apr 27, 2015 2:31 pm

This physical server will be :

- HP DL320e Xeon E3-1230v3 (3.3Ghz)
- RAM : 16 Go DDR
- HDD : 2x1 To RAID 1 - 7.2K
- Eth. : 4x1GBPS

Il will be dédicated for vCenter (+VBR if it's possible)
groussat
Service Provider
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:36 pm
Full Name: Gregory ROUSSAT

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Apr 27, 2015 2:35 pm

Consider also the number of concurrent tasks you're going to run on this proxy. In any case, you can always add another proxy server to take the load of this one.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby groussat » Tue Apr 28, 2015 2:03 pm

Thanks a lot for that update.
groussat
Service Provider
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:36 pm
Full Name: Gregory ROUSSAT

Re: Install VEEAM and vCenter on same server?

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Thu Apr 30, 2015 3:43 pm

Also remember a physical proxy can only do direct to SAN restores in few situations, for all the others it will use network mode. A virtual proxy to be used for faster restores is still recommended.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5047
Liked: 1330 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Previous

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests