Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Choodee
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mar 03, 2012 4:30 pm
Full Name: Sandee Dela Cruz
Contact:

Installing Veeam on the same VM as Virtual Center

Post by Choodee » Mar 07, 2012 12:50 am

To cut down on VM sprawls, I'm planning to install Veeam on the same VM as virtual center. Will i have any issues backing up this VM? Is this setup typical?

Thanks
Sandee

J1mbo
Expert
Posts: 261
Liked: 29 times
Joined: May 03, 2011 12:51 pm
Full Name: James Pearce
Contact:

Re: Installing Veeam on the same VM as Virtual Center

Post by J1mbo » Mar 07, 2012 9:18 am

Personally I would keep them separate. Assuming you have Windows Datacentre licensing, so the only cost saving would be a few GB of RAM, but RAM is very cheap.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18024
Liked: 1531 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Installing Veeam on the same VM as Virtual Center

Post by foggy » Mar 07, 2012 9:26 am

Sandee, general recommendations are to configure the backup job for this VM using standalone ESX(i) host and Network mode without VSS.
Please refer to the following threads for details:
What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup server?
Backup Replicate vCenter VM
Unable to backup vCenter/Veeam server in v6
vCenterVM as VEEAM proxy

kschyff
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 15, 2013 10:44 am
Full Name: Karl
Contact:

[MERGED] Free Edition on same machine as vcenter server

Post by kschyff » Mar 15, 2013 10:46 am

Hi

To save costs i would like to know if it would be possible to use the same physical server for both veeam backup (free edition) and vcenter server (vsphere 5.1)?

Thanks
Karl

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16666
Liked: 1390 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Free Edition on same machine as vcenter server

Post by veremin » Mar 15, 2013 10:54 am

Hi, Karl. Yes, it’s possible to have both VB&R Server and vCenter being deployed on the same physical server. Though, be aware that this might create additional resource load on the given machine.

Hope this helps.
Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andreas Neufert, darmarko and 26 guests