IPv6 support in veeam v9

VMware specific discussions

IPv6 support in veeam v9

Veeam Logoby deevie » Thu Oct 01, 2015 7:35 pm

Will veeam v9 be fully IPv6 compatible? In version 8, a backup proxy must still be able to connect to a vmware 6.0 host over IPv4 for NFC to work properly. In recent version of vmware VDDK (6.0) NFC over IPv6 should be possible.
deevie
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 8:58 pm

Re: IPv6 support in veeam v9

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Oct 01, 2015 8:08 pm

No, v9 does not add full IPv6 compatibility. By the way, NFC API is not a part of VDDK. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: IPv6 support in veeam v9

Veeam Logoby haslund » Tue Dec 08, 2015 9:40 am

Are any of the current components IPv6 compatible?
If yes, which?
Are you working on making it all IPv6 compatible?
Rasmus Haslund
Principal Technologist, Global Education Services @ Veeam Software
Veeam Certified Architect #1 | Veeam Certified Trainer #4 [v7,v8,v9] | Veeam Certified Trainer Mentor #1
Twitter: @haslund
Blog: www.perfectcloud.org
haslund
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 270
Liked: 50 times
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:35 am
Location: Denmark
Full Name: Rasmus Haslund

Re: IPv6 support in veeam v9

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Tue Dec 08, 2015 2:41 pm 5 people like this post

I have another question for you instead of an answer: how many environments are using ONLY IPv6 and have removed IPv4 completely? ;)
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5047
Liked: 1330 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

[MERGED] Your non-support for IPV6 has become real cock-bloc

Veeam Logoby dkvello » Mon Dec 21, 2015 6:02 pm

Why do You not have IPV6 on your roadmap again ?
dkvello
Service Provider
 
Posts: 90
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Full Name: Dag Kvello

Re: Your non-support for IPV6 has become a real cock-blocker

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Dec 21, 2015 6:19 pm

Hi,

Do you need IPv6 to accomplish something specific? If so please provide us some more background.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: IPv6 support in veeam v9

Veeam Logoby dkvello » Wed Dec 23, 2015 10:50 am

All 2015/2016 Datacenters we build are IPV6 only. Of course, since Veeam has no support for IPV6 i've had to do a Frankenstein and hack in IPV4.
This means that since we use IPV6 ONLY in our management and high-security networks (where we have all PC's/Clients that access the vSphere, backup and storage management) I have no use of the nice new remote Backup Console in Veeam9 - sinceit doesn't support IPV6 and we're in no way going to add IPV4 in those networks.

There is of course one more company that gives us a bit of unintended IPV6 pain - VMware. Since they for some reason need IPV4 to have vVol's working (Some VASA 2.x limit) we've had to classify vVol implementations as "Not ready for Production" until they get their act together.
dkvello
Service Provider
 
Posts: 90
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Full Name: Dag Kvello

Re: IPv6 support in veeam v9

Veeam Logoby homerjnick » Wed Dec 23, 2015 5:21 pm 6 people like this post

At Cisco HQ they don't even use IP6 only...on a recent Cisco Training course the tutor told me "who would?"...
homerjnick
Expert
 
Posts: 203
Liked: 35 times
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:13 pm
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz

Re: IPv6 support in veeam v9

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Wed Dec 23, 2015 6:57 pm 4 people like this post

dkvello wrote:All 2015/2016 Datacenters we build are IPV6 only.

And how do you communicate with the rest of the world?
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5047
Liked: 1330 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: IPv6 support in veeam v9

Veeam Logoby dkvello » Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:29 pm

Well, almost every device here in Norway, mobile, Broadband etc. uses IPV6 (alongside IPV4) and 95% + of the Internet has IPV6 exposure. That's how we reach the outside world.
For those very few domains that are not reachable via IPV6 we use a NAT64/DNS64 gateway.

I don't really feel that we're ahead of the times. IPV6 has been live for, what?, 15-20 years ?
It certainly has been available as a default IP stack since 2006 (even Window Vista had it enabled by default).

I can't see any reason whatsovere for an enterprise product, especially something lice CloudConnect, to not support IPV6 in 2015/2016. That is just sloppy and dissapointing.
dkvello
Service Provider
 
Posts: 90
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Full Name: Dag Kvello

Re: IPv6 support in veeam v9

Veeam Logoby dkvello » Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:38 pm

homerjnick wrote:At Cisco HQ they don't even use IP6 only...on a recent Cisco Training course the tutor told me "who would?"...


But Cisco is soooo last century. They still sell 10/100/1000 Switches at the price of ridiculous. If anything, Cisco has been dragging its feet for to long and hampered the virtualization of networks.
dkvello
Service Provider
 
Posts: 90
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Full Name: Dag Kvello

Re: IPv6 support in veeam v9

Veeam Logoby Zeon » Sun Dec 27, 2015 11:06 pm

It is true as of today you don't "need" IPv6. But the reality is we are all in the technology game. With IPv4 exhaustion the number of hacks we will need to implement going forward as exhaustion continues to make thing work is going to hurt us all. We all have a responsibility to move towards full IPv6 support in a dual stack, especially those who want to be leaders in their field. Is that what Veeam wants to be?
Zeon
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:50 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Spence

Re: IPv6 support in veeam v9

Veeam Logoby Andreas Neufert » Mon Dec 28, 2015 8:01 am 3 people like this post

I like Veeam products for two reason, they concentrate on things that are really usefull for a wide range of customers and as well listening to customers like you.

The question is would you like to scratch one or two of the major features of v9 just to release IPv6 support?
As I understand Veeams development process, the quality assurance process is the bootleneck for all new features. Testing everything over IPv4 and IPv6 would increase test time for releases significant and so it would reduce feature number per release.

On the other side we have customers like you who use IPv6 or at least some that make IPv6 compatibility mandatory for all new products.

As every company will have to deal with IPv4 ("only" or "nested on IPv6") for quite a while and IPv6 "only" will not be so common in the next time, it will take a while. But as our PM would say: "Keep pushing" the more people who send Veeam IPv6 only requests with a good background story why you need this, the more priority IPv6 get on the feature list.
Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 2200
Liked: 360 times
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: @AndyandtheVMs Veeam PM

Re: IPv6 support in veeam v9

Veeam Logoby dkvello » Mon Dec 28, 2015 8:23 am

IPV6 should have been there since version 1. It's not a feature of the product (VEAM B&R) itself, it's a major building block of the Internet/LAN/WAN/OS.
It's as silly as asking if You wan't to drop a feauture in V9 to support hostnames in ADDITION to IP adresses. We really don't need hostnames as IPV4 adresses will do just fine.
I mean, even NOTEPAD supports IPV6 when opening and saving files to fileservers with IPV6 only.
dkvello
Service Provider
 
Posts: 90
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Full Name: Dag Kvello

Re: IPv6 support in veeam v9

Veeam Logoby marco.horstmann » Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:14 am 1 person likes this post

Hi Dag,

IPv6 is a building block of the internet, ok, but you have still to implement IPv6 in Dialogs, Checks, etc.Notepad is only a application which uses system default file save/open/etc dialog. If we would only save from local application to a fileshare it's easy to implement via Windows API, but this doesn't work for a backup application. We have our own services which needs to speak IPv6 with vCenter, ESX, WAN Accelerator,Tape Server, Backup Proxy, Backup Repository, etc. For all of this you need to integrate IPv6 into the dialogs and after all of this you need to test everything.

Regards
Marco
Marco Horstmann
System Engineer @ Veeam Software

@marcohorstmann
https://horstmann.in
VMware VCP
NetApp NCIE-SAN for 7-Mode and Clustered Ontap
marco.horstmann
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 279
Liked: 41 times
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2014 3:05 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Full Name: Marco Horstmann

Next

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: billy.tsang and 13 guests