Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

VMware specific discussions

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon May 23, 2016 5:12 pm

I see the case, thanks for explanation.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15289
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Veeam Logoby crackocain » Sat Oct 01, 2016 7:01 pm

Hi

Is there any chance Surebackup Exclusion at 9.5? It is very simple feature but i dont understand why it cant. Application Groups useful but not automated. We are servicing hundreds of customers. So we want Surebackup and other services can be autonumous.

Why is important?

We are adding backup job ESX host. Some of unnecessary VM's excluded. So if customer delete VM or add VM Veeam backup automatically. We are relaxed because customer protected.
Then we are setting Surebackup but some Linux VM's or some of Windows VM's even VmwareTools is installed can not pass ping test.
So we want to exclude this VM's but it can't happen.
So i have to add application group all this VM's. One by one or grouping. It doesn't matter because all autonomous structure is broken.

Please consider this feature coming releases...

Thanks
EMC, IBM Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey
crackocain
Service Provider
 
Posts: 67
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Turkey
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Oct 03, 2016 4:18 pm

Not in v9.5.

Gostev wrote:We prioritize features based on the number of requests and value to the product, as opposed to submission date or [perceived] simplicity.


But thanks for the feedback, anyway.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15289
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Exclude/skip VM from SureBackup Linked Job

Veeam Logoby JoshuaPostSAMC » Thu Oct 06, 2016 5:06 pm

I have a SureBackup job that I'm running with a linked job. In the job are a handful of 2008 R2 servers with the VMXNET3 adapters without the hotfix that causes the NIC to be identified as a new adapter and no longer have a static IP assigned. When I install the hotfix, it causes the production VM to lose it's static IP, so the solution is worse than the fix.

I want to just skip these VMs as they always fail the IP check and are also failing the heartbeat check, which causes my job to always result in a fail.

It appears that I can't just exclude them or set the boot time to 0 seconds since there is a 60 sec minimum. Any powershell stuff that could help?
JoshuaPostSAMC
Expert
 
Posts: 118
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Veeam Logoby JoshuaPostSAMC » Thu Oct 06, 2016 7:40 pm

So Foggy, since my post was merged into this one, does that count as an additional request?

Ultimately, having known failures results in people ignoring all failures, assuming they are of the same nature and a legitimate concern will ultimately be missed.
JoshuaPostSAMC
Expert
 
Posts: 118
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Veeam Logoby crackocain » Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:08 pm

Hi Joshua

Did you try E1000 ethernet adapter? E1000 ethernet adapter perfecly fine.

Also if IPV6 disabled in Network Connections at 2008 R2 also cause this problem. Yeah interesting but true :)
EMC, IBM Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey
crackocain
Service Provider
 
Posts: 67
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Turkey
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Veeam Logoby JoshuaPostSAMC » Thu Oct 06, 2016 9:11 pm

@crackocain
I haven't changed to E1000 as it would still involve changing the static IP and causing a downtime. If only the heartbeat would work properly then it would be less of a problem, as I can watch these machines boot in SureBackup, but they never register.

I know this is apparently by design according to Veeam, but I see it as a bug that a VM that we uncheck heartbeat and ping tests still fails because it thinks it fails to boot because it doesn't have a heartbeat or a ping...
JoshuaPostSAMC
Expert
 
Posts: 118
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Veeam Logoby JoshuaPostSAMC » Thu Oct 06, 2016 9:27 pm

Also if IPV6 disabled in Network Connections at 2008 R2 also cause this problem. Yeah interesting but true :)


What, what?!@ I just checked a server that failed to detect heartbeat and IPv6 was not enabled, and I checked another server that was successful and it was enabled...

That should be a huge sticky on this forum, or a bug to be squashed! I'll try enabling it on a server that is failing and see if it starts coming up.
JoshuaPostSAMC
Expert
 
Posts: 118
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Veeam Logoby JoshuaPostSAMC » Fri Oct 07, 2016 3:37 am

Enabling IPv6 on a 2008 R2 server with VMXNET3 didn't allow Surebackup to detect the heartbeat, although I have VMware Tools 10.0.9 installed. (Note: I enabled IPv6 on the production server, but have not rebooted it yet, just allowed another backup to run) When SureBackup creates this VM, it still gets the "new" NIC and is looking for DHCP since the static IP is assigned to the other NIC instance, but as I'm trying to simulate our production environment, this network does not have DHCP, so it gets a 169. address along with an IPv6 address. Even after assigning a valid IP to the new NIC and restarting VMware tools service, it still does not detect the VM has booted.

Any other thoughts? Veeam support had mentioned setting VMware Tools service to Automatic (Delayed Start) which I'm in the middle of testing.
JoshuaPostSAMC
Expert
 
Posts: 118
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Oct 07, 2016 10:30 am

JoshuaPostSAMC wrote:So Foggy, since my post was merged into this one, does that count as an additional request?

Yes, that's among the reasons of why we merge similar topics/requests into a single thread - to see the demand for the feature.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15289
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Veeam Logoby crackocain » Fri Oct 07, 2016 10:54 am

I'm pretty sure changing the network adapter to E1000 solves the problem. Yeah cause downtime :)
EMC, IBM Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey
crackocain
Service Provider
 
Posts: 67
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Turkey
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Veeam Logoby StephanF » Fri Oct 07, 2016 3:05 pm

Hi there,

I want to add +1 for this feature request. Maybe it can be designed more elegant than just an exclusion of some VMs.

Suggestion:
Let a Surebackup job link to different objects. They could be:
- Backup jobs (possible now, but enhance it with exclusions of VMs)
- Single VMs (so you could just throw a bunch of VMs inside that will be processed in parallel)
- Application groups (so you could define a group of VMs, that will be processed in parallel)

This all is meant additionally to the Application Group you can define now and that is started first to fire up all required infrastructure VMs.

Why it is important for us:
We have want to use Surebackup to verify our VMs. These VMs have different prerequisites to work. Some just need a DC online, some need a database server too, some need several different VMs to be available.
At the moment we have 2 ways to achieve this:
1. Just use Application Groups for every single case and don't link the Surebackup job to backup jobs. This works but has the drawback of being slow because all VMs are started one after another without any parallel processing.
2. Design our backup jobs by grouping VMs that have the same prerequisites, put these prerequisites in Application Groups and link the Surebackup job to the right App Group and to the backup job.
This would be faster because of parallel processing but this way we have to design our backup jobs according to Surebackup needs. This is not nice because their design is according to frequency of backup, OS, etc.

With our suggestion we would be able to group the VMs according to Surebackup needs without changing the design of the backup jobs. This would add much more flexebility.

I hope I was able to explain our demand.

Greetings
Stephan
StephanF
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 42
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 1:15 pm

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Veeam Logoby JoshuaPostSAMC » Fri Nov 25, 2016 3:34 pm

I want to +1 the request to have a way to exclude a VM from SureBackup, or just make it so if we set an advanced option and uncheck both heartbeat and ping test, that the VM should be an unconditional success, rather than still failing when it Veeam fails to detect a successful boot.

I have some VMs that have RDMs, that I know will not boot successfully in SureBackup, but they are part of a job that I want to verify with SureBackup, so being able to exclude them, or have an unconditional success is critical to being able to have a job being shown as a success, rather than the entire job always showing a failure due to a known issue with one VM in the job. I'll start ignoring failures of that job and could miss an important failure of another VM that isn't a known issue.
JoshuaPostSAMC
Expert
 
Posts: 118
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Veeam Logoby JoshuaPostSAMC » Tue Nov 29, 2016 4:21 pm

This is really needed. I don't understand how SureBackup determines a success vs fail when no tests are selected

VM1: No VMware Tools, Network not mapped in Virtual Lab. Heartbeat and Ping test not enabled. After waiting the entire Bootup time, it reports that the VM booted successfully and the status is Success

VM2: VMware Tools installed, Network mapped but the first IP returned in non-routable and a second is accessible. Heartbeat and Ping tests not enabled. SureBackup detects the non-routable IP and reports No destination network for the non-routable and the status is Failed

VM3: VMware tools installed, Network mapped, but due to RDM dependencies, OS will not boot with a failed fsck and we are OK with this as we have a documented plan. Heartbest and Ping tests not enabled. SureBackup reports it did not boot and the status is Failed.

On all 3 of these, I am aware that they will not fully be bootable/testable in SureBackup, which is why I have disabled every test and set a short boot time as I don't want to waste time for them to boot if I can't verify it. My SureBackup job is based on a Linked job. This is my example of just a few situations where either we need to be able to exclude a VM from Surebackup entirely, or just allow a VM that has no tests enable to always show as a success. If I'm not asking SureBackup to test anything, then why would it ever show me a failure? Even more confusing when some instance it still shows a success and others a fail.
JoshuaPostSAMC
Expert
 
Posts: 118
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:32 pm

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Nov 29, 2016 5:18 pm

I appreciate such a detailed and reasonable feedback, thanks for that!
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15289
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest