Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 28660
Liked: 5183 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by Gostev »

pirx wrote: Jul 09, 2021 12:05 pmI don't see a way how we could utilize this without scripting for our environment.
Absolutely, SureBackup is *totally* designed to be used with scripting to achieve comprehensive recovery verification, as every environment and app are unique - and so are recoverability testing requirements. Some folks are fine just with the VM booting, but most serious customers want to test their entire multi-tier app can be brought back. So there's definitely that complexity, which is why smaller customers usually don't even bother implementing SureBackup (especially since most did not do test recoveries even before Veeam). But bigger customer quickly figure out that it is easier to do some scripting once and get everything automated going forward, than to rarely perform recovery verification of a very small part of an environment manually as they have been doing before.

By the way, how often did you do test restores before Veeam, what percentage of your backups are you restoring during each test, and how long does the whole exercise takes? Most customers tell us they don't even have enough storage to test restores of any meaningful part of their environment, which is one big issue SureBackup addresses.

pirx
Veeam Legend
Posts: 308
Liked: 28 times
Joined: Dec 20, 2015 6:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by pirx »

With scripting I meant to create a custom logic around it and not using the build in GUI. Not test scripts. The question is not how often we tested restores before Veeam, the question is still how often we do this. Because we don't use SureBackup in production. I really like the idea of SureBackup, it's just not that usable at the moment for us. And to be honest, it doesn't look usable for large environments. I really would like to hear some experiences from those user and how they work around the limitations.

Mildur
Veeam Legend
Posts: 1169
Liked: 506 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by Mildur » 1 person likes this post

I am working on a new backup environment for 200-250 vsphere vms. I‘m planning to use SureBackup Jobs.

For a start, I will activate only testing the vm heartbeat for all vms. This is the simplest way for an easy check and to find out, how long it takes to test through all vms.

After that initial configuration, our second step will involve ping and application testing. Because there is a limitation on how many vNICs (vspehre Limitation) can be configured to the virtual Lab appliance, i will need to create virtual labs and surebackups for each customer.
For the backup jobs, we have choosen to use a „backup Job per Customer“ design. That way, i will be able to create surebackup jobs for each customer with dedicated virtual lab appliances for network and script testing.

We have only a small numbers of customers in this environment. But enough to not configured it manually. I have already planned to use scripting to deploy each customers virtual lab and surebackup jobs. To do it manually, it would take too long. It needs some preparation time to get all used subnets for esch customer. But after that, I am sure that a script should work which imports the a prepared csv file with the customers subnets and virtual lab configuration. That is my plan, hopefully it will work. We will see in september or october 😁

For customers onpremise, we have made the decision, that we will sell the customer at least the enterprise edition (VUL with Ent Plus, or Rental Enterprise). Each new backup server will be configured with SureBackup Jobs by us. For OnPremise installations, we configure it manually.
VMCE 9 | Veeam Legends 2021
Working with Veeam since 2017 for a VCSP in Switzerland

pirx
Veeam Legend
Posts: 308
Liked: 28 times
Joined: Dec 20, 2015 6:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by pirx »

Do the customers have Appliances without VMware Tools installed? From our 1500 VM's there is now a significant number that have no tools and they can't be installed. Would be nice if tests could be enabled or disabled on a per VM base.

Mildur
Veeam Legend
Posts: 1169
Liked: 506 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by Mildur » 1 person likes this post

As far as i know, most of the servers are windows or ubuntu machines. They will have the vmware tools installed. There are a few special appliances like Citrix Netscaler where I think, the tools are not installed.

Disabling the heartbeat test for a specific vm is possible in this step (Advanced Button):
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... b_link.png

But it shouldn‘t be a problem. If vmware tools are not installed, the surebackup job will not test for the heartbeat. From the guide:

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... p-settings
Veeam Backup & Replication performs a heartbeat test only if a VM has VMware Tools are installed. If VMware Tools are not installed, the VM will be started but the test will not be performed.
VMCE 9 | Veeam Legends 2021
Working with Veeam since 2017 for a VCSP in Switzerland

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 15 guests