Is vSphere 6.5d supported?

VMware specific discussions

Is vSphere 6.5d supported?

Veeam Logoby rfn » Wed May 24, 2017 7:24 am

Hi,

We're currently on vSphere 6 Update 3 and I'm looking into upgrading to the latest vSphere 6.5d. The reason is that we're getting new hosts and a new SAN (3PAR), so it would be nice to start with the latest version.

We have Veeam Availability Suite and is running version 9.5 update 1. Does that support vSphere 6.5d? Should we update to Veeam Backup 9.5 update 2 before upgrading vCenter?

And if there's any gotchas and tips for the vCenter upgrade, then I'm all ears :D
rfn
Expert
 
Posts: 131
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 9:43 am
Full Name: René Frej Nielsen

Re: Is vSphere 6.5d supported?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed May 24, 2017 10:33 am

Hi René, this update is installed in our QC labs and I haven't heard of any issues. Both Veeam B&R v9.5 Update 1 and Update 2 should work.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Is vSphere 6.5d supported?

Veeam Logoby rfn » Wed May 24, 2017 10:35 am

Great! I'll give a try then.

Thank you for quick reponse!
rfn
Expert
 
Posts: 131
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 9:43 am
Full Name: René Frej Nielsen

Re: Is vSphere 6.5d supported?

Veeam Logoby Pat490 » Wed May 24, 2017 11:03 am 1 person likes this post

I just migrated our vSphere 6.0u2 to latest 6.5d yesturday and Veeam 9.5u1 works like a charm (as always)! :)
Pat490
Expert
 
Posts: 135
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 7:18 am
Location: Germany
Full Name: Patrick

Re: Is vSphere 6.5d supported?

Veeam Logoby jsprinkleisg » Thu May 25, 2017 4:02 pm 1 person likes this post

René, please note that upgrade from vSphere 6.0 Update 3 to vSphere 6.5 is currently not supported by VMware, because 6.0 U3 was released after 6.5. I suspect we'll have to wait for 6.5 Update 1 before we can upgrade in-place.

You could certainly spin up a new vCenter 6.5 for your new environment, and then move your 6.0 U3 hosts into it. But then you'd have to deal with various issues and consequences of migrating to new vCenter. It might be less work to stay at 6.0 U3 for now, and upgrade to 6.5 U1 later.
jsprinkleisg
Service Provider
 
Posts: 13
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:59 pm
Full Name: James Sprinkle


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: allankjaer and 20 guests