Isolated Network VM backupable?

VMware specific discussions

Isolated Network VM backupable?

Veeam Logoby B.F. » Wed Mar 02, 2016 4:29 pm

Greetings,

Here is the scenario:
We have 2 sites where each backs up or replicates to the other site for disaster recovery.

Site1 <----Backup / Replicates ----> Site2

We are going to setup a VM on Site2 that is isolated from any of the other networks on Site2. No PC will be able to access this isolation VM from either Site1 or Site2 via the network.

My question:
Will IsolatedVM still be able to be backed up / replicated back to Site1 with Veeam? We are using vSphere 6.0 U1b and each site does have a Veeam v8 presence with Veeam proxies.

Thanks!
B.F.
Expert
 
Posts: 128
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:41 pm

Re: Isolated Network VM backupable?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Mar 03, 2016 1:16 pm

Yes, you can still backup VMs without having direct network connection to them. Just make sure you have VMware Tools up and running.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15089
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Isolated Network VM backupable?

Veeam Logoby prolix21 » Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:04 pm

If you want application aware jobs you may have some issues, however the new guest interaction proxy option may provide you some options for that. Everything we backup is isolated from our Veeam Backup systems, so we assign one VM in each network and give it a nic attached to our 'backup network' and assign it as a guest interaction proxy for the job. Gives us full application aware backups in the same type of scenario you describe.
prolix21
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 3:06 pm
Full Name: dan

Re: Isolated Network VM backupable?

Veeam Logoby larry » Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:28 pm

prolix21 wrote:If you want application aware jobs .
create a local user on that VM with rights
larry
Expert
 
Posts: 380
Liked: 89 times
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker

Re: Isolated Network VM backupable?

Veeam Logoby alanbolte » Thu Mar 03, 2016 7:13 pm 1 person likes this post

VIX requires either UAC is disabled (not an option in all versions of Windows) or the built-in Administrator account.
alanbolte
Expert
 
Posts: 635
Liked: 172 times
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:58 pm
Full Name: Alan Bolte

Re: Isolated Network VM backupable?

Veeam Logoby B.F. » Wed Jun 01, 2016 9:08 pm 1 person likes this post

Application aware did not work as you folks pointed out.

prolix21 wrote: so we assign one VM in each network and give it a nic attached to our 'backup network' and assign it as a guest interaction proxy for the job.


Unfortunately this would not be an option for us unless we are willing to go through layers of approval only to most likely get denied.

larry wrote:create a local user on that VM with rights


Tried that and it would fail

alanbolte wrote:VIX requires either UAC is disabled (not an option in all versions of Windows) or the built-in Administrator account.


Disabled UAC per this Veeam KB, rebooted, now it works!

Thanks all!
B.F.
Expert
 
Posts: 128
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:41 pm

Re: Isolated Network VM backupable?

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Thu Jun 16, 2016 9:57 pm

Hi!

I ran into a similar problem.
I'm trying to backup a vm from an unreachable network.

I have set a local admin account on the Win2012 VM.

However, when I try to do aaip backup, I get an error:

17.6.2016 0:40:51 :: Processing VM Error: Cannot upload guest agent's files to the administrative share [C:\Windows].
Cannot create folder in guest: [C:\Windows\VeeamVssSupport].
VIX Error: You do not have access rights to this file Code: 13

I have no anti-virus software running on that server right now.

Another question, I a DC on that same network. Would I be able to back that up, if I installed a guest interaction proxy on some VM on that network, and could I possibly even use domain-accounts to backup rest of the VMs on that network?
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 261
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Isolated Network VM backupable?

Veeam Logoby B.F. » Wed Dec 28, 2016 5:10 pm

So our scenario has been working great for months...until now.

We are no longer able to backup the VM that is on the isolated network. Here is the error it throws (IP, server name, and account name has been changed):

Failed to prepare guest for hot backup. Error: Failed to connect to guest agent. Errors: 'Cannot connect to the host's administrative share. Host: [10.X.Y.Z]. Account: [servername\accountname]. Win32 error:The network path was not found. Code: 53 '
Error: Failed to connect to guest agent. Errors: 'Cannot connect to the host's administrative share. Host: [10.X.Y.Z]. Account: [servername\accountname]. Win32 error:The network path was not found. Code: 53 '


This all seemed to start just after we applied MS security patches on the Veeam box and the isolated VM. I have not made any changes to the Veeam job since we got it working.

Isolated VM had the following installed
KB3197875 November 2016 Preview of Monthly Quality Roll-up for Windows Server 2012 R2
KB3197874 November 2016 Security Monthly Quality Roll-up for Windows Server 2012 R2

Veeam Server had the following installed
KB3205401 December 2016 Monthly Quality Roll-up for Windows Server 2012 R2
KB890830 Windows Malicious Softare Removal Tool for Server 2012 R2
KB3205404 December 2016 Security and Quality Roll-up for .NET Framework...

Unless anyone has suggestions, I may have to systematically remove the updates to see if that remedies the issue.

Thanks!
B.F.
Expert
 
Posts: 128
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:41 pm

Re: Isolated Network VM backupable?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Dec 29, 2016 3:08 pm

We'd appreciate you coming back with the particular update causing this behavior.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15089
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Isolated Network VM backupable?

Veeam Logoby B.F. » Thu Dec 29, 2016 3:12 pm

Foggy,

Funny, I just opened a ticket with Support in hopes there would be another option than to remove updates from a production environment. Wonder if I should start removing from the isolated VM or from the Veeam server first.... hmmmmm
B.F.
Expert
 
Posts: 128
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:41 pm

Re: Isolated Network VM backupable?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Dec 29, 2016 3:18 pm

If no other changes were performed, one of these updates seem to change something that resulted in proxy not having access to VM anymore (firewall settings, UAC, etc. depending on whether it worked over network or VIX). You could check those prior to removing updates.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15089
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Isolated Network VM backupable?

Veeam Logoby B.F. » Thu Dec 29, 2016 3:31 pm

Is there some equivalent to Ping to verify that Veeam is able to touch this VM? We don't manage the FW so it could very well be possible there was some changes done on that which we are not aware of.
B.F.
Expert
 
Posts: 128
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:41 pm

Re: Isolated Network VM backupable?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Dec 29, 2016 3:46 pm

Try to open ADMIN$ share on the VM under account specified in the job.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15089
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Isolated Network VM backupable?

Veeam Logoby B.F. » Thu Dec 29, 2016 3:52 pm

Not sure if I'm following. The network this VM is on is isolated. Can't hit anything from the Veeam server to this VM via normal network means. Are you referring to trying to open the ADMIN$ while logged into the isolated VM with the Veeam account? I was able to log into the VM via the vSphere console with the account used by Veeam but never tried ADMIN$.
B.F.
Expert
 
Posts: 128
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:41 pm

Re: Isolated Network VM backupable?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Dec 29, 2016 3:59 pm

Not sure, but opening vShpere console under the same account and trying to open the administrative share should be the same that the proxy does when connecting over VIX.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15089
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Next

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests