Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
matai
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 13, 2014 4:44 pm
Contact:

Just setup 2nd Nutanix cluster for backups

Post by matai » Sep 10, 2015 8:04 pm

Hey,

I just setup a 2nd Nutanix cluster to be used as a backup repository. It's a Nutanix 2400 with 2 6000 storage blocks.

I read through the latest Nutanix/Veeam Best Practices document but still have a question:

How should I setup the repository?

All I can find in the document regarding that the Veeam Repository Server is that it should be on a secondary Nutanix cluster. So could it just be a Windows Server? Or is there any best practice on how to setup the repository?

Thanks

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6655
Liked: 665 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Just setup 2nd Nutanix cluster for backups

Post by Shestakov » Sep 10, 2015 9:42 pm

Hello,
Yes, it can be a Windows Server. Are are you going to use it as a primary or secondary repository? Onsite or offsite?
Thanks!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24169
Liked: 3295 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Just setup 2nd Nutanix cluster for backups

Post by Gostev » Sep 11, 2015 1:26 am

Hmm, I don't really follow this scenario... why use Nutanix as a backup target?

Supposedly, Nutanix is designed to run your production VMs. I was under impression that it is very expensive, so probably it is an overkill to use one as a backup target?

This also adds additional level of unneeded complexity between you and your backups - and an extra technology to deal with, something else that can brake or start misbehaving. Follow the Occam's razor principle ;)

Finally, your backups are no longer easy to get to, as they are inside VM, inside Nutanix. Compare that with storing backups on a SAN LUN or a file share, that can be easily reconnected to any physical computer for emergency backup retrieval (even to your laptop!) should all your servers die.

Are you sure this is a good idea? Perhaps you could share some of your thoughts around that.

matai
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 13, 2014 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Just setup 2nd Nutanix cluster for backups

Post by matai » Sep 11, 2015 4:11 pm

Shestakov wrote:Hello,
Yes, it can be a Windows Server. Are are you going to use it as a primary or secondary repository? Onsite or offsite?
Thanks!
This is the primary onsite repository "landing zone"

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22517
Liked: 1469 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Just setup 2nd Nutanix cluster for backups

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 14, 2015 11:27 am

As Anton said it would be "an expensive" backup repository that may potentially complicate your recovery process and increase your recovery time a lot - but answering your original question, Windows Server would be a preferred way of exposing this device to your backup jobs.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests