Just setup 2nd Nutanix cluster for backups

VMware specific discussions

Just setup 2nd Nutanix cluster for backups

Veeam Logoby matai » Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:04 pm

Hey,

I just setup a 2nd Nutanix cluster to be used as a backup repository. It's a Nutanix 2400 with 2 6000 storage blocks.

I read through the latest Nutanix/Veeam Best Practices document but still have a question:

How should I setup the repository?

All I can find in the document regarding that the Veeam Repository Server is that it should be on a secondary Nutanix cluster. So could it just be a Windows Server? Or is there any best practice on how to setup the repository?

Thanks
matai
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 4:44 pm

Re: Just setup 2nd Nutanix cluster for backups

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Sep 10, 2015 9:42 pm

Hello,
Yes, it can be a Windows Server. Are are you going to use it as a primary or secondary repository? Onsite or offsite?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Just setup 2nd Nutanix cluster for backups

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Sep 11, 2015 1:26 am

Hmm, I don't really follow this scenario... why use Nutanix as a backup target?

Supposedly, Nutanix is designed to run your production VMs. I was under impression that it is very expensive, so probably it is an overkill to use one as a backup target?

This also adds additional level of unneeded complexity between you and your backups - and an extra technology to deal with, something else that can brake or start misbehaving. Follow the Occam's razor principle ;)

Finally, your backups are no longer easy to get to, as they are inside VM, inside Nutanix. Compare that with storing backups on a SAN LUN or a file share, that can be easily reconnected to any physical computer for emergency backup retrieval (even to your laptop!) should all your servers die.

Are you sure this is a good idea? Perhaps you could share some of your thoughts around that.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Just setup 2nd Nutanix cluster for backups

Veeam Logoby matai » Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:11 pm

Shestakov wrote:Hello,
Yes, it can be a Windows Server. Are are you going to use it as a primary or secondary repository? Onsite or offsite?
Thanks!


This is the primary onsite repository "landing zone"
matai
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 4:44 pm

Re: Just setup 2nd Nutanix cluster for backups

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Sep 14, 2015 11:27 am

As Anton said it would be "an expensive" backup repository that may potentially complicate your recovery process and increase your recovery time a lot - but answering your original question, Windows Server would be a preferred way of exposing this device to your backup jobs.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests