Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
wa15
Expert
Posts: 204
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Jan 02, 2014 4:45 pm
Contact:

"Last Backup" field and Veeam Backups

Post by wa15 » Aug 27, 2014 11:50 pm

I know that there is the option to have Veeam insert a tag on each backup job into the notes section. But with the vSphere thick client (running 5.5), is there a way to make it so that the "last backup" field gets populated instead of the Notes field? I believe the "last backup" field was taken away with the web client but wondering if it's possible with the thick client.

Thanks!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16789
Liked: 1410 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: "Last Backup" field and Veeam Backups

Post by veremin » Aug 28, 2014 9:05 am

I'm not sure but you can try and see whether the field is accessible via PowerCLI. In case it's, you can write a simple PowerShell script that being scheduled as a post job activity will update the corresponding field. Thanks.

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2620
Liked: 539 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: "Last Backup" field and Veeam Backups

Post by nielsengelen » Sep 01, 2014 9:46 am 1 person likes this post

What if u change the text "Notes" in the backup job to "Last backup" ? I think it will overwrite any value as the fields are from the same type in the VMware infrastructure.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

wa15
Expert
Posts: 204
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Jan 02, 2014 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: "Last Backup" field and Veeam Backups

Post by wa15 » Sep 05, 2014 6:01 am 1 person likes this post

@vmniels, that worked! Thanks! Didn't think it was as simple as that. The problem is that though the text that Veeam enters into the "last backup" field is very long as it shows the backup server, backup time, and backup path. Is there anyway to modify what information is inserted into the field? Also, does the vCenter plugin offer any additional information here?

@Eremin, sorry still making progress on my scripting skills so not sure how to proceed on that.

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2620
Liked: 539 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: "Last Backup" field and Veeam Backups

Post by nielsengelen » Sep 08, 2014 7:05 am

You can't modify what is being added. The vSphere web client plugin is an overview of your VBR infrastructure. More info can be found on http://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/70/e ... rview.html
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

wa15
Expert
Posts: 204
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Jan 02, 2014 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: "Last Backup" field and Veeam Backups

Post by wa15 » Sep 08, 2014 6:37 pm

Got it, thank you sir!!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16789
Liked: 1410 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: "Last Backup" field and Veeam Backups

Post by veremin » Sep 09, 2014 8:59 am

I must have been mistaken, as quick Google search didn't show any easy way to change the said field via PowerCLI. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 13 guests