License gets reassigned automatically

VMware specific discussions

License gets reassigned automatically

Veeam Logoby neilmurphy65 » Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:30 am

Hi All,

I'm just wondering if anyone has seen this issue before. A customer of mine has a cluster that is fully licensed. Recently, they temporarily added another standalone host in order to backup a single VM. They did not purchase any additional licensing. That backup ran successfully but when the nightly backup ran later that day, several VMs on another host were not backed up. It seems that adding a host can result in a socket license being reassigned i.e. the license used by one host can be taken away and given to the newly added host.

Has anyone seen this happen before? Does it even seem possible that a license could be reassigned without warning the user?

Thanks,
Neil.
neilmurphy65
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 44
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:26 pm
Full Name: Neil Murphy

Re: License gets reassigned automatically

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:46 am

Hi, Neil,

Can you go to Menu -> Help -> License -> Licensed Hosts and provide us with the information present there? How many hosts you see listed? How many licensed sockets you have? How many are in use and how many are remaining?

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: License gets reassigned automatically

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:51 am

Basically, this shouldn't be the case, unless they've manually revoked license from one of the existing hosts. I'd contact technical support for verification. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: License gets reassigned automatically

Veeam Logoby neilmurphy65 » Tue Mar 01, 2016 5:26 pm

Thanks to both of you for your replies. I understand that the customer has returned the setup to its original setup so the issue was resolved some weeks ago so the management GUI probably won't show whatb the problem was at this stage. However, I was asked if I could explain how it may have happened. If, as you say Foggy, it shouldn't happen without the license being manually revoked from one of the existing hosts, then the most likely explanation is that the operator did revoke the license but hasn't admitted it to anyone.
neilmurphy65
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 44
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:26 pm
Full Name: Neil Murphy

Re: License gets reassigned automatically

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:47 am

Most likely, this is the case. Let us know, if you manage to find that out from the customer.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests