Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Tos
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 21, 2014 7:26 am
Full Name: Toshihiro Kobayashi
Contact:

Limitations when using Windows 10 as a Veeam Proxy

Post by Tos » Sep 10, 2019 6:36 am

Hi

Our prospect customer want to use Windows 10 as Veeam Proxy Server.

The following restrictions were included in the following release notes.
https://www.veeam.com/veeam_backup_9_5_ ... tes_rn.pdf
-------
For populating replica disks during incremental replication passes and failback, Windows 7 and Windows 8 based backup proxy servers support “network” processing mode only. To work around this, install backup proxy servers on Windows Server OS.
-------

Does it apply to Windows 10 ?

Let me know.

Regards
Toshi

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 3987
Liked: 487 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Limitations when using Windows 10 as a Veeam Proxy

Post by HannesK » Sep 10, 2019 12:25 pm 1 person likes this post

Hello,
the document clearly says Windows 7 and Windows 8. I don't expect issues with Windows 10.

And just to make sure: are you planning to do "Veeam Replication" (ESX to ESX) in Hot-Add mode? Because that's the only situation where it is relevant.

Best regards,
hannes

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24787
Liked: 3517 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Limitations when using Windows 10 as a Veeam Proxy

Post by Gostev » Sep 10, 2019 4:57 pm

Well, this known issue is definitely from times before Windows 10 even existed... so I would ask QC to double-check if this applies to Windows 10 or not. Frankly, I don't even remember what was causing the issue, so I don't have even slightest idea if Windows 10 is possibly affected or not.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24787
Liked: 3517 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Limitations when using Windows 10 as a Veeam Proxy

Post by Gostev » Sep 12, 2019 3:21 pm 1 person likes this post

Confirmed with QC that Windows 10 has the same limitation, so we will update the release notes.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 36 guests