Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
dcs115
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 09, 2011 3:44 pm
Full Name: David Sundquist
Contact:

Linux Target Backup

Post by dcs115 » Jan 26, 2012 7:30 pm

I am testing backing up to a linux target behind a NAT and keep getting the following error "Error: Client error: Host not found (authoritative)".

I have configured my server to use ports 2500-2510 TCP (in B&R 6) and have forwarded those ports to the linux target that is behind the NAT. The Veeam server can definitely communicate to the linux target as it creates a folder on the target for the backups, as well as populates the free space correctly. I have also ticked the "Run server on this side" under "Preferred TCP connection role".

Currently the server config is pointing to the hostname, but i have also tried the IP address.

Am i missing something here?

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5418
Liked: 2240 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Linux Target Backup

Post by tsightler » Jan 26, 2012 11:45 pm

So can the Linux host access the Veeam proxy server by name? Seems like probably not, thus the "host not found" error.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24789
Liked: 3522 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Linux Target Backup

Post by Gostev » Jan 26, 2012 11:46 pm

Looks like DNS issue.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24789
Liked: 3522 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Linux Target Backup

Post by Gostev » Jan 26, 2012 11:46 pm

Ah, Tom beat me :D

dcs115
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 09, 2011 3:44 pm
Full Name: David Sundquist
Contact:

Re: Linux Target Backup

Post by dcs115 » Jan 27, 2012 4:43 pm

i have tried both dns name and ip address and neither worked, so i have taken dns out of the equation and still no love. Does the target server need to be able to access the proxy server by name or simply by ip address?

dcs115
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 09, 2011 3:44 pm
Full Name: David Sundquist
Contact:

Re: Linux Target Backup

Post by dcs115 » Jan 27, 2012 4:47 pm

tom - no it cannot, i am assuming from your phrasing that it needs to? netbios name or fqdn?

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5418
Liked: 2240 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Linux Target Backup

Post by tsightler » Jan 27, 2012 9:46 pm

You can always just stick it in the "hosts" file as a test. That's what I'd do. You should be able to look at the logs on the Linux host and see what name exactly it is trying to connect back to, most likely FQDN.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: edxh, ers_kentwick and 36 guests