Location for replica Metadata

VMware specific discussions

Location for replica Metadata

Veeam Logoby djmc » Mon Jun 26, 2017 10:15 am

Hi,
We are replicating our VMs (vSphere) to our DR site using Backup and Replication v9.5. We have deployed two B&R servers, bkp which is located in the prod DC and manages local backups to a local DDBoost Device on Data Domain. And Rpl which is located at the DR site and manages Replication from Prod to DR. Currently the replication metadata goes to the default repository on the Rpl server.
The Rpl server does not currently see the Data Domain repository in the prod DC. Can I use the same DDBoost repository in production, which is used for local backups, to store the Replication metadata or should I create a new DDBoost repository specifically for the replication metadata?
Also how do I manage the retention of the replication metadata, I seem to have data going back almost 6 months when for most VMs we are only keeping one restore point?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
DJ
djmc
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 12:40 am
Full Name: Declan McCann

Re: Location for replica Metadata

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jun 26, 2017 11:50 am

Hi Declan,

djmc wrote:Can I use the same DDBoost repository in production, which is used for local backups, to store the Replication metadata or should I create a new DDBoost repository specifically for the replication metadata?

You can use any repository for replication metadata, it shouldn't take much space, feel free to put it to the same repository. However, please keep in mind this behavior > Sharing proxies/repository between different servers
djmc wrote:Also how do I manage the retention of the replication metadata, I seem to have data going back almost 6 months when for most VMs we are only keeping one restore point?

You don't need to manage it, since it should honor your replication job retention policy. Can you clarify how you see that data goes back to 6 months?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19546
Liked: 1100 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Location for replica Metadata

Veeam Logoby DeadEyedJacks » Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:36 am

My experience is that Veeam doesn't allow Replication Metadata to be stored within an EMC DDBoost container.
https://www.veeam.com/kb1956
Microsoft, NetApp, Symantec, Veeam, Veritas and VMware certified professional
MCTS, MCSE, NCDA, NCIE-BR, ASC, SCS, VMTSP, VTS, VCP
DeadEyedJacks
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 85
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 2:55 pm
Location: UK
Full Name: DeadEyedJacks


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: EricB and 27 guests